Reviews and Recommendations for Avis Rental Car

90%

of 31
guests
recommend


Virtuoso Verified Traveler

All reviews are from confirmed guests sharing exclusive insights

Sort reviews by

Competent

By: Harps1


Reviewed on: 11 Sep 2013

No surprises. Car ran fine and staff were knowledgeable if not curt and unsmiling at the airport pick up counter.
Travel Advisor:  Rick Kritschgau

great experience

By: kh


Reviewed on: 03 Oct 2013

ready and waiting..great little car ..drove thru france
Travel Advisor:  Timothy Krenzien

They do try harder

By: Not provided


Reviewed on: 20 Nov 2013

Good service. It's a sign of good service when one cant remember the details of a car rental event. Everything went as expected... as it should!!
Travel Advisor:  Sharon Cooper

it worked

By: kb


Reviewed on: 24 Sep 2014

the cars were in good condition, they were clean and performed as required.

Friendly service

By: Liz


Reviewed on: 15 Feb 2015

We had a minor fender bender with a rock in Kaua'i, Hawai'i (cracked the bumper). The Avis representatives were professional and understanding when I called to report the accident. We were supplied with a new car so we could sign up for their insurance in case we had any other problems during our trip. Both cars that we rented had minor issues. The first car had an undercarriage noise while driving from the very beginning and the check engine light went on just before we returned it to Avis (nothing to do with the minor bumper damage). The second car had a warning on the dash that said it needed an oil change. We made the representative aware, and he said that the mechanic probably didn't reset the message after the recent oil change. He gave us an option of changing our car, but it was closing time and we decided not to. After that, each time we used the car, we changed the read-out so we wouldn't have to look at that warning on the dash all the time.
Travel Advisor:  Rosemarie Spinney

Nice Ride!

By: FTroop


Reviewed on: 22 Mar 2015

We asked for a full size SUV and were pleasantly surprised with the 2015 Chevy Suburban. Avis always does a great job. They know their stuff!
Travel Advisor:  Joan McGee

Jennifer got me an Upgraded Car

By: PennyLane


Reviewed on: 20 Apr 2015

Jennifer booked my car rental on a recent business trip to LA. I typically book the lowest priced car rental to be mindful of business expenses. However, since I booked my car through Jennifer, I was extended an upgrade. The rental car associate even allowed me to choose my vehicle. Jennifer makes travel, whether for business or pleasure, a breeze. I never worry about my air, hotel, or car knowing that Jennifer has handled all the details. Thank you, Jennifer!
Travel Advisor:  Jennifer Mercado

good

By: muffin


Reviewed on: 08 Sep 2015

The car we rented was not available, so the attendant up-graded. Very good service, would recommend.
Travel Advisor:  Debbie Reimer

Great Problem-Solver

By: Ellie


Reviewed on: 30 Jul 2016

Brenda gracefully and quickly resolved a number of errors that I made in planning this trip. She is not only a great problem-solver but, also, a patient one.
Travel Advisor:  Brenda Tolson

Expert advice

By: Dee


Reviewed on: 18 Aug 2016

She did handle this for me perfectly and made it as painless as possible.
Travel Advisor:  Christine Serio

Agent was helpful

By: Ma'am


Reviewed on: 15 Oct 2016

The Avis agent was very helpful with reservation. The only complaint was the wait to see an agent, were in line for more than an hour.
Travel Advisor:  Julie Raines

expert friendly service

By: Rose M.


Reviewed on: 18 Oct 2016

We landed in San Francisco and found that the car we thought we were getting was not available for us. Well, Vincent went out of his way to find us a beautiful car that more than met our needs. He turned a problem into a heart warming experience. By the time we left Avis, we felt like we'd connected with a gentleman who was truly concerned with the satisfaction of his customers. Thank you Vincent! I'm so glad you were at the counter when we came in.
Travel Advisor:  Marla Ceresne Black
Not Recommended

avis not so much

By: i am who i am


Reviewed on: 10 Jan 2017

although I had a reservation for a small car, I was given a four door and told that was all they had.

new Zealand

By: RobR


Reviewed on: 31 Jan 2017

All as expected
Not Recommended

Avis not good at this location

By: Steve


Reviewed on: 02 Mar 2017

Car rental was there and ready to go, however the car had a loose license plate that rattled to whole time. The windshield washer fluid was empty, and in Fla. you need it often. The car didn't look like it was cleaned before we got it either. Luckily all we need the car for was to go to and from the hotel & airport. Next time Ill get an Uber.

Rental car

By: Holly


Reviewed on: 29 Mar 2017

Nice car and no complaints! Long lines at the Phoenix airport but super easy rental return.
Travel Advisor:  Lauren Parry
Not Recommended

avis

By: old


Reviewed on: 20 Apr 2017

we had car 5 hours total and were charged over$ 200.

Oakland

By: John


Reviewed on: 24 Apr 2017

Satisfactory service, but Enterprise was better
Travel Advisor:  Cheryl Everhart

Africa Trip

By: KS


Reviewed on: 12 May 2017

No problems encounterd.
Travel Advisor:  Kristina Miller

Reliable

By: kpm


Reviewed on: 27 Jun 2017

As usual, Avis was very dependable and reliable. We had great service.
Travel Advisor:  Cristina Buaas

Car

By: TB


Reviewed on: 18 Jul 2017

Never an issue with Avis.

Car rental

By: Malcolm family


Reviewed on: 28 Jul 2017

All good and worked fine

Good car

By: Ellen


Reviewed on: 13 Aug 2017

Car was just the right size
Travel Advisor:  Victoria Seltzer

Maine Trip

By: Rex


Reviewed on: 27 Aug 2017

I was very pleased with my rental car
Travel Advisor:  Melanie Thomas

Car Rental

By: Cindy


Reviewed on: 06 Oct 2017

Good. We got mini-van as requested which was available on-time in Jackson Hole, WY with return in Portland, OR.
Travel Advisor:  Jane Hersom

National FFA Convention

By: Mitch


Reviewed on: 12 Nov 2017

Avis was easy to work with and the vans were clean and ready to go. The employees were very friendly and got us in and out in a flash.
Travel Advisor:  Debbie May

Exc

By: Sam


Reviewed on: 29 Jan 2018

All good. Good car and service.

car rental

By: lina,claudio,domenic


Reviewed on: 01 Feb 2018

we used Avis almost every time, they have great service, never had an issue with car type or size for our needs
Travel Advisor:  Maureen Johnson

Aruba

By: Lori Donnelly


Reviewed on: 03 Feb 2018

The rental car was great no problems and were equipped with two car seats.
Travel Advisor:  Annie Humble - Gougler

Australia and New Zealand trip

By: SC Traveler


Reviewed on: 15 Feb 2018

Average. Typical understaffed car rental company
Travel Advisor:  Birgit Navarre