Intrepid Travel

Sustainable Experience-Rich Travel

Intrepid Travel

For over 30 years we've been taking travellers around the globe. That's over 30 years of adventures, of visiting new places and old friends, of countless unforgettable moments. More than 30 years of changing the way people see the world, on small group tours with like-minded Intrepid people. As a responsible business, we've always been committed to being there for our travellers and the communities we visit. We're on a mission to create positive change through the joy of travel. So, you can trust that when you travel with us, we won't just be there for your first adventure, we'll be there every step of your journey. That's our mission. It’s been on a journey, while staying true to itself – just like us. Since the very beginning we’ve seen travel as a force for good.

Insider Tip

Contact your Virtuoso Travel Advisor for insider knowledge to help enhance your experience.

Virtuoso Preferred Supplier Since 01 Feb 2019

 97%
Recommended
70
Reviews

Reviews and Recommendations for Intrepid Travel

97%

of 70
guests
recommend


Virtuoso Verified Traveler

All reviews are from confirmed guests sharing exclusive insights

Sort reviews by

Rajathstan, India

By: cg


Reviewed on: 15 Feb 2020

I really enjoyed this trip. I fell that I have had a glimpse of the real India, not just a quick, sanitized version showing only the highlights (such as the Taj Mahal), but some of the countryside as well.
Travel Advisor:  Jackie Matthews

Lárus as the perfect guide

By: Cecily


Reviewed on: 22 Nov 2021

Lárus was extremely knowledgeable about Iceland geology, history, folklore, and customs. He readily shared stories and tidbits of info throughout our tour. He knew of great places to stop for everything from meals to shopping to getting scenic photos away from the crush of other tourists. I have never experienced a better tour, with a better tour guide, than Lárus. I can praise him highly enough!
Travel Advisor:  Jeanie Colclough

Intrepid Travel was Very Professional

By: D. Ewers


Reviewed on: 26 May 2022

We do not have one complaint about our recent tour to the Galapagos Islands with Intrepid Travel. We were met at the airport in Quinto, Ecuador by a driver with a sign and she took us to our hotel. From there on out we didn't have to worry about a thing. Communication was easy and all of our questions were answered.
Travel Advisor:  Julie Garcia

Guided hiking along the Wicklow Way, Ireland

By: Dave E


Reviewed on: 02 Jun 2022

Very nice hiking and walking through the Wicklow mountains. The guide Brendan was absolutely wonderful. He was very knowledgeable not only as a technical guide through more challenging hiking parts, but also the history, culture, geography, flora & fauna of the many areas we passed through. Very safe and well prepared too--good fun having lunch under his tent with the blowing rain outside near the top one day. The accommodation, transfers, and meals were good, the extra tour parts, meeting a local farmer and hearing more about St Kevin were nice interesting features too. Brendan did an extra great job with last minute changes we asked about and he was able to accommodate a range of guests all in one trip.
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

Review of Intrepid Travel

By: Carolyn


Reviewed on: 05 Jun 2022

We had booked this trip under Peregrine Travel 2 years ago and this trip was under the comfort level that we have experienced under Peregrine. The travel guides Maria and Nico were some of the best that we have had and the local guides at the archaeological sites were so enthusiast and passionate. The accommodations met with our expectations. Overall a very enjoyable trip. I think that a review in the form of a questionnaire ( like Peregrine used to provide) that had more pointed questions about the guides, accommodations, itinerary would be more beneficial to Intrepid.
Travel Advisor:  Tracy Fiala

Responsible Travel

By: Marek


Reviewed on: 29 May 2022

Great itinerary, close to local people and supporting good causes. Variety of options to allow for different fitness level. Opportunity to meet travelers with the same needs.
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

Great tour

By: Carol


Reviewed on: 11 Jun 2022

Have travelled with intrepid for many years and will continue to do so. Zingy was very knowledgeable and engaging. We had a small group so able to customize to our tastes. Good balance of free time and tours. Food on the Perigrine Dalmatia was fantastic and the staff were friendly and fun. Highly recommend this trip!
Travel Advisor:  Tracy Fiala

Morocco

By: Nannan


Reviewed on: 16 Jun 2022

We were so grateful that we booked our trip to Morocco with Intrepid. Our tour guide, Hassan, was superb. We were greeted by him via a voicemail when we first checked into our Casablanca hotel even though he was finishing up another tour with another group. More importantly, I had a fall on the first day of our tour at the mosque in Casablanca, suffering a concussion and needing 5 stitches to close a wound to my head. He got me to an emergency station for the stitches, then arranged for me to be admitted to a private clinic in Rabat for assesment where I spent 3 days. Sadly we had to drop out of the tour, not only because the tour had to move on while I got medical attention, but becasue our airline had lost our luggage (for 6 days)! Despite all the hassle, Hassan organized our return to Casablanca and manged to track down our bags at the Casablanca airport, just in time for our return flight to Canada. We will return!
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

Intrepid has Excellent guides

By: Kristine


Reviewed on: 06 Jun 2022

We were impressed with Intrepid and the operators which work for them. The guides were all very professional, personable and easy to work with. We enjoyed our complimentary tour of Quito and our guide was excellent, but it was scheduled during a national holiday and all of the churches and museums were closed. Intrepid should have known about this national holiday in Ecuador and rescheduled our tour for a better day. I feel like we missed out on a wonderful opportunity to see antiquities of this country and visiting the beautiful cathedrals.
Travel Advisor:  Patricia Stone

travels june 2022

By: travels june 2022


Reviewed on: 01 Jul 2022

Very dependable. No major issues and the one that occurred was quickly resolved and a solution put in place.
Travel Advisor:  Tracy Fiala

Iceland with Intrepid

By: JC


Reviewed on: 24 Jun 2022

A good experience. Good knowledgeable humorous leader, comfortable accommodations, good food, interesting sights.
Travel Advisor:  Lauri Walters

Intrepid Travel review

By: GMT


Reviewed on: 18 Aug 2022

I like the adventure-style trips of Intrepid Travel. I traveled with them quite a few times in the past (along with other companies that offered a similar style of trips, but with COVID most of the others went bankrupt, apparently). Intrepid is one of the last men standing, still operating according to its original priciples as far as I can tell. My latest trip with them (summer 2022) took me though Scandinavia and the Baltics. Excellent itinerary and guides. Fine trip. Good value for money. I'm happy. One proviso: if you are considering one of their trips, read all the trip details carefully. Travel light - you will be carrying your own bag. Some travelers skip over that part and arrive with way too much baggage. You'll enjoy these trips more if you travel light. And prepare to walk a lot and be independent at times. These trips are partly about what you make of them and how you decide to use your own time. Bon voyage!
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

Morocco uncovered

By: Alec Watson


Reviewed on: 06 Sep 2022

We had a great trip experience with an excellent tour guide, Bamekki. He was very knowledgeable and ensured we all had an enjoyable and safe time. Transport was very comfortable and Abdul was a very safe and polite driver. The hotel in Marrakech was a little disappointing

David, Tour of Azores

By: Kathy Paul Rosemary and Jim


Reviewed on: 03 Oct 2022

David was a great guide and paid attention to the philosophical values of Intrepid. While he had to take this tour due to the illness of a colleague, we thought he was quite knowledgeable of the area and was always willing to answer questions. Having to deal with a diverse age range, David attended to the needs of each demographic without favouring one over the other. He was proficient in English and we had no problem understanding what he was saying. David had a kind, gentle and friendly manner and was always willing to accommodate and facilitate. All in all, we enjoyed David’s company and appreciated his way of guiding us through the beautiful Azores. Great job!
Travel Advisor:  Shari Tucker

Morocco

By: Nannan


Reviewed on: 03 Oct 2022

We really enjoyed our Premium Morocco in Depth with Essaouira. It was comprehensive and covered many of the well-known destinations of the country; from mountains to desert to beach, modern cities to rustic villages, sunrises to sunsets, bleak landscapes to lush oases. We loved our stays in the many beautiful riads though some had plumbing issues with showers and toilets. And while we found that there were too many days with long drives through unremarkable countryside (Fes to Erfoud, Marrakech to Essaouira), we relished the many beautiful swimming pools that awaited us at the end of such days. On the otherhand, there were a number of places where there was nothing to do, no places to explore at the end of the day. And the stay in Essaouira was too long.
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

Mainland Greece

By: Nancy B


Reviewed on: 10 Oct 2022

This was my second tour with Intrepid and they came through wonderfully. I like the philosophy they embody. The guide was personable and well informed. The group was small, which is another reason I like using Intrepid. We had an itinerary but remained flexible to accommodate things we wanted to do. I hope to use Intrepid again!
Travel Advisor:  Stephenie Updegraff

Intrepid Pemium

By: Wilson


Reviewed on: 08 Oct 2022

We were so fortunate to have Ozan as our tour guide. He went above and beyond with his guidance and explanation and made my experience of Turkey wonderful. We had many experiences around the country that gave us an insight to the history, geography, culture, food, wine, arts and crafts and music.

Hike, bike and rafting experience

By: BeauBeau


Reviewed on: 06 Oct 2022

Our tour guide, Mike, was knowledgeable and so much fun. He was always on time and ready to start our day. He did the experiences we signed up for and then some. Lots of fun and laughs. The hiking and biking were difficult which we loved and the rafting was a little too tame for us. I think Intrepid did a good job of providing us with lots of good memories. We definitely would use Intrepid again.
Travel Advisor:  Anna Harrison

Always amazing

By: Leanne


Reviewed on: 14 Oct 2022

This is my fifth intrepid tour - always fantastic. Itinerary was great, tour leader was absolutely exceptional (thank you so much Abdou). Such a great way to travel - small group, lots of interesting, different inclusions. See you next time Intrepid.

Northern Thailand experience

By: wildcolours62


Reviewed on: 20 Oct 2022

I loved this premium tour - hotels were fantastic and tipping was included. Variety of activities, not just a temple tour. Exceptional morning with the elephants. I really enjoyed meditating with a monk in a temple; cycling in Sukhothai Park among the ancient ruins; a boat ride in Bangkok. Tony was a terrific leader. He helped tourists order interesting, not crazy spicy, dishes. He suggested that we might be interested in the caberet show in Chiang Mai and it was definitely a trip highlight. He helped me arrange 2 additional day trips after the Intrepid trip finished. Tony loves his country and enjoys sharing his enthusiasm with his new tourist friends. Excellent. Outstanding. Thank you.
Travel Advisor:  Lauri Walters

Jam packed!

By: LC


Reviewed on: 07 Nov 2022

This was a jam packed itinerary! Eight cities in 15 days, The Best of Spain. Geared to the fit and on the go traveller, we averaged 15,000 steps a day. We travelled by City Bus, Intercity Bus, Train, Taxi and Metro. Orientation walks were done in each city and there were lots of options available for all interests. We saw the top attractions. Only drawback was that with travel time we only had 1.5 days left in the large cities that certainly could have kept us occupied 4 to 7 days. This is really just a "taste" of each wonderful city.
Travel Advisor:  Shari Tucker

Solid people

By: Jerry


Reviewed on: 09 Nov 2022

Intrepid makes great trips led by good leaders. We have returned to them again and again.
Travel Advisor:  Tracy Fiala

Premium Turkey in Depth

By: RN


Reviewed on: 30 Nov 2022

This was my first Intrepid Trip and it was a good mix of culture, history, food, and local experiences. There were some long travel days but we were warned as part of the dossier. Elif our local guide was a wealth of information and ensured we fully experienced the Turkey - the food and learned some Turkish. Hilights were the boat trip in Kas, Cappadocia, the historical sites of Ephesus and Sagalassos. There were issues with the airport transfer - there was no information on where to meet them (I’m used to having someone waiting with a sign) I had to call the local operator for this information. When I found them outside the terminal, they didn’t have me on the list of arrivals. A couple of my fellow travellers had the same experience. Other than this issue, the trip was enjoyable and I would recommend it.
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

Intrepid Travel tour of Vietnam

By: PC


Reviewed on: 28 Nov 2022

We usually self organise our own holidays, but found the Intrepid Travel offering to be quite appealing. We had a fantastic holiday all thanks to Intrepid. The people, places, activities and organisational aspects of the trip were fantastic. Highly recommended.

Madagascar Trip

By: Nessie


Reviewed on: 09 Dec 2022

Great, the trip leader and guide was so patient, very knowledgeable and well organized. He gave us amazing information, answered all our questions and no subject was taboo.
Travel Advisor:  Shari Tucker

NZ

By: RG


Reviewed on: 23 Jan 2023

Excellent itinerary and leader.
Travel Advisor:  Brooke Ross

Iceland

By: Iceland


Reviewed on: 13 Feb 2023

Amazing tour guide who was very knowledgeable about the geology and history or Iceland. Told fun stories and kept us entertained. Safety was a priority snd he adjusted done things because of the weather but was able to add at the end. We stayed in quaint guest houses with great customer service. Food was great.
Travel Advisor:  Jennifer Fried

Another Brilliant Intrepid Trip

By: Tim & Trish from Halifax


Reviewed on: 01 Apr 2023

We have just completed our 2nd trip with Intrepid and they have become our "go-to" tour provider of choice. We have traveled to India and Morocco with them and relied upon their commitment to using local guides to ensure that you get the most out of your trip. In both cases, that was true. In our most recent trip to Morocco, our guide (Hamid) was brilliant. He was intensely proud of his country and wanted to show us everything that he could. He was outgoing and personable. Everywhere we went we were welcomed as friends of Hamid. This is one of the great benefits of using Intrepid, but there's more: not only do you have one local guide for the whole trip, but they arrange guides in each of the locations you visit to give true local colour. These locals guides were consistently excellent. And then there are the home visits and access to great local manufacturers of desirable products (yes we bought a rug in India!) All this in groups of 12 or fewer. This is a great way to see a country
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

Wow, what an awesome tour of Peru

By: Wildcolours62


Reviewed on: 09 Apr 2023

Premium Peru with tour leader Diana was outstanding. Enjoyed visiting 6 distinct regions & loved it all. Diana was excellent in making sure that clients were feeling ok with the high altitude; she is client focused & very attentive. Most of the hotels on this Premium trip were good 4 star hotels but the hotel in Cusco & Arequipa should not be included in a Premium trip. Activities were terrific esp the reed island in Lake Titicaca, the Convent in Arequipa & the rainforest resort in the Amazon. Great drivers, local tour guide and outstanding leader Diana.
Travel Advisor:  Lauri Walters

Trip was well organized

By: LvV


Reviewed on: 13 May 2023

The trip started with a very good guide - Surgi. Surgi was very good at keeping us together, organized, helpful, available when needed, and was passionate about his job. The 8 day tour included a lot! We had good and informative walking tours, as well as the olive oil and Sherry production tours, not to mention the delicatessen special visit, providing us an appreciation of the process and value of the famous meat. This was a worthwhile tour of souther Spain.
Travel Advisor:  Shari Tucker

Great trip to the outback

By: Carol


Reviewed on: 28 Apr 2023

Really enjoyed the outback trip. I liked the pace - felt relaxed. Tour leader Simon was wonderful. Very nice man - kind and knowledgeable. Would have appreciated know in advance that there would be 4 nights of glamping. Anticipated only two. Intrepid should have made that more clear.
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

Great operator

By: Global Grrrrlll


Reviewed on: 05 Jun 2023

Intrepid is one of few operators who can pull together a trip to some lesser-known places while incorporating cities, rural areas and a mix of activities. Their style of travelling works for me because they rely on family-run hotels, which I prefer because the families care about their business moreso than big chains. All hotels were great. We also travelled by train, private bus, and on public buses, which are always a treat. I appreciate the time Intrepid takes to build tours that work for people like me who are interested in adventure travel.
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

Well planned Peloponnese tour

By: Louise


Reviewed on: 05 Jun 2023

Intrepid has a great niche for travelers not wanting a good travel experience and itinerary without breaking the bank. Our Greek Peloponnese Peninsula tour was well planned and led. Our guide was energetic and gave a positive vibe for the entire journey. We were on a premiere tour, but as “mature” travelers would prefer more comforts in terms of van seats and hotel rooms. All in all a very good trip!
Travel Advisor:  Virginia Duval

Premium Turkey in Depth May 18-June 1/23

By: Harry


Reviewed on: 07 Jun 2023

Great trip through western and central Turkey with very knowledgeable guide Akin who was wonderful with the group. Trip went very smoothly to all events and locations. Istanbul was fantastic.
Travel Advisor:  Tracy Fiala

Azerbaïdjan, Georgia, Armenia

By: Manon


Reviewed on: 25 Jun 2023

Excellent... all the time... for every activity.
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

Premium Portugal

By: M&R


Reviewed on: 02 Jul 2023

A beautiful trip - our guide was excellent and we had a marvellous time. Trip was programmed well and we really got to see amazing parts of the country
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

Knowledgeable and Organized Tour Operator

By: Willie Gist


Reviewed on: 08 Jul 2023

Our tour leader was very knowledgeable and organized, and made sure the group had memorable experience.
Travel Advisor:  Marion Taborda

operator

By: WILNA


Reviewed on: 21 Aug 2023

all good except for pairing me with a male in a room on 2 occasions
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

Galapagos, Egypt and Jordan

By: Marie


Reviewed on: 17 Aug 2023

We have used Intrepid for our last two trips and are using them again this December when our family of five goes to Africa to camp across Uganda and Kenya. The tour operators have been fantastic each time as they are knowledgeable, fun and critical to engaging the group so the group gets close fast and thoroughly enjoy the tour. We enjoyed the group dynamics and have made some lifelong friends on these tours. We see a lot of sites, learn about the culture and often get to meet the local people. Highly recommended!!
Travel Advisor:  Lauri Walters

A perfect short getaway.

By: Jenny N


Reviewed on: 17 Aug 2023

I have travelled with Intrepid many times and have never been disappointed in their itineraries. The trips are well organised and are affordable with good accommodation and the guides are always very good. Alison (guide) was very organised, informing the group of our daily activities and enabled the group to walk at our pace while enjoying the scenery and taking time to look at the many species of trees and plants as well taking time to source different birds on the different walks. It was not just about the beautiful walks but enjoying the natural flora and fauna. To coin a quote" it is about the journey not the destination".

Sydney to Brisbane

By: MaBarlow


Reviewed on: 17 Aug 2023

We loved the small group experience. Our guide Chris was knowledgeable, thoughtful and his passion for photography and wildlife was what really made him so personable. Our accommodations, meals and variety of experiences was fabulous. Would highly recommend this tour company! Can’t wait to do another adventure!
Travel Advisor:  Brenda Wheeler

First Intrepid Tour Experience

By: Marilyn


Reviewed on: 06 Sep 2023

I was extremely impressed with my experience--this was my first ever guided tour. Attention to detail, availability, local knowledge, ethical responsibility...all of these are very important to me and all were met--and exceeded--throughout my month-long trip. I think this will be my first of many tours with Intrepid.
Travel Advisor:  Sheila Gallant-Halloran

Morocco Uncovered

By: P&B


Reviewed on: 18 Sep 2023

Excellent.Hamid our guide was very efficient, knowledgeable and caring.Samir -our driver was excellent-felt very safe in his hands.

Amazing Experiences

By: Jean the Bean


Reviewed on: 29 Sep 2023

All my Aussie tours were with Intrepid. Darwin, Kakadu/Litchfield- excellent guide, very knowledgeable. Only 3 guests, we all wanted the knowledge about the Indigenous people of the region. This trip exceeded expectations. Cairns, Daintree and Cookstown - inaugural trip. It was amazing. The Indigenous guide in the Daintree has been the highlight of my travels. Both Guides were amazing & our group of 7 bonded beautifully. Made the trip even more special. Great Ocean Road/Grampians - amazing guide, outstanding scenery, small group of 5, Apollo Bay accommodation not acceptable, & the restaurant dinner was a huge disappointment. Guide handled medical incident with an amazing level of calm & care. Uluru/Alice Springs- amazing group, bit large at 17. We were all there for the Indigenous experience & it did not disappoint. Magical. Guide very knowledgeable. Tasmania-great guide fits Intrepid brand. Gp of 18. Gp more interested in ticking off boxes then exper. Beautiful island/stunning views.
Travel Advisor:  Shari Tucker

Intrepid Tour

By: Todd


Reviewed on: 06 Oct 2023

I enjoyed the tour in Greece and the tour leader was very fun to be around. Would highly recommend.
Travel Advisor:  Sarah Brown

Intrepid is great if you don’t like traveling alone!

By: Traveler2


Reviewed on: 12 Oct 2023

This was our first time doing a group travel tour, and there are some great advantages and some disadvantages. Intrepid is awesome if you want to be along for the ride and not have to think about what to do or how to get there. It’s also really great if you want to make friends, stick with a group, meet new people from other places, and have a more organized and structured experience. We probably will not use a tour company again only because we like to plan as we go and make our own schedule. At times we felt like sleeping in, skipping meals or staying somewhere else so we would miss out on cost we’ve already paid for. We also felt the hotels were pretty low grade for the cost of the trip as a whole, and prefer nicer hotels when we travel. Overall, it was a great trip and experience, and we would recommend intrepid if you like an organized group tour! Our tour guide was awesome as well, very knowledgeable and had great recommendations!
Travel Advisor:  Sarah Brown

Amazon

By: Moe


Reviewed on: 07 Nov 2023

We really enjoyed the experience at Sacha Lodge. The staff, excursions and food were great. We will recommend to others
Travel Advisor:  Joanne Laurie

Andalusia

By: Sue


Reviewed on: 28 Oct 2023

Excellent trip it was everything I hoped it would be. This was my first trip travelling as a single and I was a little apprehensive but was soon put at ease by our excellent guide. Anna was knowledgeable, professional, flexible and fun. Our stops at the Sherry winery, Olive Oil processing plant and the Ham shop were all interesting and informative. My only complaint is about the last hotel in Granada which was awful. The shower was dangerous and leaked all over the floor, the electrical outlets were unsafe and it was very noisy.
Travel Advisor:  Kim Paterson

Good value based on great experience

By: PC


Reviewed on: 31 Oct 2023

I’ve used Intrepid twice now in the past 2 years and have been very happy with their product and services on both occasions. I’ve traditionally been an independent traveller, but have found Intrepid to offer the perfect blend of delivering on the essential logistics whilst still providing flexibility and a great traveller experience. Value for money has also been very good. Well done Intrepid and keep up the good work.

Perfect way to see Turkey

By: Steve


Reviewed on: 11 Nov 2023

Our experience with Intrepid Travel and its Tour Operators was excellent in every way. We had a small group of only 8 people and it quickly formed into a tight group of like-minded travelers who were anxious to see the wondrous sights of Turkey in all their splendor. It couldn't have been better. The Tour Operators were very informative, and went out of their way to add to our overall travel experience.
Travel Advisor:  Bill Beckett

INTREPID

By: Glorker


Reviewed on: 13 Nov 2023

This was my first tour with Intrepid and I am very impressed with the company. The guides were excellent, the standard of hotel was good and all the arrangements worked without any problems. I particularly like the small groups.
Not Recommended

Very misleading trip description

By: TravelHappy


Reviewed on: 14 Nov 2023

The Premium Japan tour was not as described in many ways. It is rated as a 2/5 for Physical Rating. But we were walking as much as 8 miles a day, up and down stairs in train and subway stations, often up steep hills that sent heart rates climbing. This trip was at least a 3.5 if not 4 on their scale-wish I had brought the right shoes. Another misleading thing was the amount of time spent on public transportation. They disclose the amount of time on trains between cities, but don't mention that you'll be on public transportation for 2-3 hours a day within a city. The hotels are not near the attractions, so you spend hours on a tram, or on subway trains, or 2+ hours squished on a packed, un-air conditioned local bus in the hills near Hakone. Be prepared to eat a lot of pre-made sandwiches from train stations b/c that's all you'll have time for. And that sushi making class? A hokey restaurant that shows you how to make a rice ball and put a piece of fish on top. Not a real class at all.

Intrepid Ultimate Galapagos Tour, 7 Nov 2023

By: JM


Reviewed on: 24 Nov 2023

In addition to every aspect of the Ultimate Galapagos trip being excellent and expertly fine tuned for an efficient, no hassle experience, the quality of the itinerary and the knowledge and skill of our Galapagos guide (Jacinto) was superb. Accommodation on the Grand Daphne was superior and every member of the crew worked extremely hard and excelled at their work from yacht and panga navigation to room maintenance and hot towels :) after snorkeling as well as cocktail bar and guest tending and top quality cuisine with a varied gourmet menu throughout the Galapagos sail. Last but not least we were fortunate to have a great group among the guests, which made for a fun atmosphere and forged many connections to last beyond the trip. Our naturalist guide, Jacinto’s nightly briefings were great and his go pro videos (shared after the trip) were a much appreciated bonus! Simply put this was the trip of the lifetime, not to be missed!
Travel Advisor:  Jacquie Macey

Intrepid Costa Rica

By: granny


Reviewed on: 17 Dec 2023

Good. They have excellent local guides. Details are very specific. Like the small group size. Definitely recommend them.
Travel Advisor:  Lauri Walters

Yes, but…..

By: Linnet


Reviewed on: 16 Dec 2023

The small group experience was enjoyable. I am not sure how to separate the tour operator from the local tour group. The biggest issue was one of the hotels was switched, and we found out about the change last minute. The hotels did not have similar amenities. Our room had no safe for valuables, the bathroom door did not close completely, the window shade broke twice the first day, and the walls were quite thin. Out sliding glass doors did not close all the way, leaving a ~1/2 inch gap for the wind to whistle through (it was windy season in Monteverde). We received 2 dinners to “compensate” for the issues, but $50-60 of food is not an appropriate compensation for missing 2 nights sleep on vacation due to the whistling wind. Intrepid should have alerted us of the change in hotels earlier and explained the differences so we could have sorted things out, possibly getting ear plugs!
Travel Advisor:  Ted Bowling

Great tour

By: Sdo


Reviewed on: 11 Jan 2024

Only positive comments, the plan, the flexibility, the locations and restaurants that we went to, only positive comments to share. Our guide, Long, was extraordinary!
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

Thailand

By: Ginger


Reviewed on: 13 Jan 2024

My Thailand trip was one for the books. I will never forget it. Having everything already planned out for me ahead of time I didn’t have to think about anything. All I had to do is sit back and enjoy. Just enough adventure along with culture.
Travel Advisor:  Kenia Collins

Gorillas and Game Parks in Kenya and Uganda

By: Marie


Reviewed on: 14 Jan 2024

Intrepid is a very good company for making you feel safe to see the world, even some of the more dangerous parts. We have now gone on three trips with them to Egypt and Jordan, Ecuador and the Galapagos and Kenya and Uganda. The tour guides are always knowledgeable and local to the area which I really appreciate. The vans and trucks are very good for travel and often allow for charging of devices as you drive around. The sites we saw in Africa were amazing and the amount of time for each was about right. These trips are very physical and can make you tired but the experiences are worth it. We tented in Africa and the tents were definitely spacious, waterproof and even had extra mosquito netting on the windows. This was very appreciated as we did get some torrents of rain at times. We will continue to use Intrepid as we explore the world.
Travel Advisor:  Lauri Walters

Costa Rica review

By: Hank


Reviewed on: 29 Jan 2024

Excellent. We were well taken care off.
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

Lovely service

By: Bethanddon


Reviewed on: 28 Jan 2024

Intrepid organized our guides while in Costa Rica. Our tour director (Keren) was spectacular - while quite young, she was very attentive and knowledgeable. She never got flapped over a couple of small situations. She made some great changes to our itinerary on the fly, which was appreciated by all of us. Our bus driver Ivan was also terrific. Quiet, but very kind and a very careful driver. We would happily travel with Intrepid again
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

Costa Rica

By: brianbrown001


Reviewed on: 27 Jan 2024

Intrepid provided an outstanding guide who travelled with us for 10 of our 13 days. Keren was special in every sense of the word - exceptional knowledge, enthusiasm, energy, advice, concern and attention to detail. Intrepid also provided an outstanding driver. Yvan drove our group safely along twisting narrow mountain roads with great skill. Intrepid also provided local guides whose knowledge and skill were appreciated. My only criticism is the small bus used by Intrepid. In two words it was “tight” and “uncomfortable.” Two adults were jammed hip to shoulder into the double seats. Also the seats were so closely aligned there was no leg room for tall persons. We will certainly travel with Intrepid again, but will check the type of bus provided first.
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

Guided private group tour in Costa Rica

By: Carole


Reviewed on: 02 Feb 2024

Intrepid seems to have a network of very interesting, knowledgeable and helpful tour guides. They put together a great itinerary for us and provided clear, informative documentation. Keren, our guide and den mother, was FANTASTIC. She was extremely helpful solving some of our situations, very flexible and took the initiative to adapt to our needs once she got to know our group. It was a bonus to have her as our friendly and cheerful guide on many of our adventures. Yvan the bus driver was also competent, flexible and friendly. I always felt confident in his ability on narrow winding roads.
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

Excellent experience with Intrepid

By: Elena


Reviewed on: 27 Jan 2024

The trip was very well planned and organized, giving us the opportunity to see, learn about and experience many aspects of the country, the culture, the history, the people, local cuisine and more.
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

Off the beaten path

By: Traveller


Reviewed on: 07 Feb 2024

Very knowledgeable and well organized tour leader but too bad the van didn’t have a microphone - only the person sitting beside him or directly behind benefitted from his wealth of knowledge about all that we saw.
Travel Advisor:  Tom Gehrels

My first choice for small group travel

By: Stephanie


Reviewed on: 04 Feb 2024

I just completed my 9th trip with Intrepid and about to do my 10th. I think that says it all.
Travel Advisor:  Shari Tucker

Awesome holiday

By: Sue R


Reviewed on: 04 Mar 2024

The tour was amazing - we had an excellent guide and there was the right balance of planned activities and free time. This is our second Intrepid tour and we would definitely use them again.

Intrepid expedition of an Antarctica

By: Eldon


Reviewed on: 25 Mar 2024

You couldn’t find more enthusiastic guides than were on this Intrepid Expedition to Antarctica. They were very knowledgeable and looked to fulfill all of our desires and needs. We were a group of 200 on the ship Ocean Endeavor with a mix of about half the people in their 30s and 40s while the rest of us were more towards retirement age and beyond. So with a wide range of physical abilities, our expedition guides had to work hard to keep all of us engaged and happy. We went out in zodiac boats to look at the wildlife and to go on land twice a day over seven days. The guides had wonderful places for us to be in the water and then also to trek on land to see the wildlife. Also 127 of us did the polar plunge!
Travel Advisor:  Julia Starling

Intrepid Tour

By: Ph


Reviewed on: 06 Apr 2024

Very good experience. Small group. Combination of rural and urban experiences. Liked the use of public transportation. Guide was knowledgeable, helpful and friendly.
Travel Advisor:  Geordie McDonald

Products Offered By Intrepid Travel

Refine Your Search
Search Entire Site
X
 

    Sustainability

    Our Commitment

    Our climate commitment

    Intrepid has been a carbon-neutral business since 2010 and in 2022 we offered over 1,800 carbon-offset trips. We declared a Climate Emergency in January 2020; which is underpinned by a seven-point commitment plan. We believe that businesses like Intrepid have a responsibility to contribute to efforts to limit global warming to 1.5C. That's why, in 2020, we became the first global tour operator with verifiable science-based targets through the Science Based Targets initiative.

    Intrepid was also one of the first signatories and a launch partner to the Glasgow Declaration on Climate Action in Tourism in November 2021. By becoming a signatory, we've agreed to implement the commitments detailed in the Glasgow Declaration, most notably supporting the global commitment to halve emissions by 2030 and reach net zero as soon as possible before 2050.

    Our Credentials