Gwen Pullman Trucco 

Lake Forest, IL United States
Why work with an advisor? 
 100%
Recommended
37
Reviews
 
Travel Specialties
Interests
  • Adventure
  • Beach & Sun
  • Food & Wine
  • Culture, History & Arts
  • Safari


Destinations
  • No Destinations
Selling Travel Since
1994
Languages
  • English

My Background

A passion for travel and adventure is in my blood. My father owned Lake Forest Travel in the 70’s and I was infected by the travel bug. My earliest memories include being whisked away every year with my five siblings to our place on the then very remote Caribbean island of Nevis. Each trip involved stopping on a different island on the way to discover new hotels for my father to add to his travel agency portfolio. To this day, that home in Nevis remains in our family and I’ve become close friends with many locals over the years. In addition to accumulating a large knowledge base from having visited and evaluated many high end properties throughout the Caribbean, I provide a unique understanding of Caribbean life from my life long intimate attachment to that island and the region as a whole.

In addition to my extensive knowledge of the Caribbean, I have travelled to and researched locales that range from the traditional destinations such as Ireland (where my daughter was married) and Western Europe to far more exotic ones such as Nepal, Tanzania, Botswana and Slovenia. Along the way, I have skied the Dolomites in Italy, trekked for a week around Mont Blanc, roamed the fells of the Lake District in the UK, slept at 13,500 ft. at Annapurna base camp in Nepal, and gone foraging for food with the Hadzas of Tanzania, the last hunter-gatherer tribe in Africa. Yes, I love adventure! I love the outdoors, nature and being inspired by new places and new people. That’s not to say I don’t love creature comforts like the hotel spa, cocktail bar and dining room! Through work and personal travel, I’ve had the good fortune to eat at Michelin starred restaurants and stay at four and five starred hotels globally.

Adventure comes in many forms and I believe that the unique breadth of my adventures gives me the perspective and insight needed to create the ideal travel experience for you.

Places I Have Traveled


Reviews and Recommendations for Gwen Pullman Trucco

100%

of 37
guests
recommend


Virtuoso Verified Traveler

All reviews are from confirmed guests sharing exclusive insights

Sort reviews by

Everything went as planned

By: Richie


Reviewed on: 28 Aug 2014

Planning was excellent. Upgrade was arranged and carried out. Service was certainly worth the price

Knowledgeable & Helpful

By: MonicaS


Reviewed on: 07 Sep 2014

Great options to chose from, and the one we picked was a great hotel. Made booking everything very simple. Thank you!

Costa Rica FUN!

By: SAVvy71


Reviewed on: 01 Jan 2015

Gwen totally identified the perfect property for us to stay in at Costa Rica. The condo and the amenities fit our family expectations above and beyond. We had a wonderful time at Los Suenos Resort. The nearby activities were plentiful for us to pick and choose from. Thanks!

Excellent Service, Wonderful Travel Agent

By: Donelle


Reviewed on: 02 Apr 2015

We have never used a travel agent before and I am so appreciate of Gwen and Lake Forest Travel for this first experience. Gwen was so helpful in planning our last minute trip to Europe. All documents and materials were provided with explicit details. We had 6 plane stops plus rented a car and drove across three countries. She really listened when I was explaining what are wants and needs were for the trip. We have not experienced any issues with the trip and it was very smooth. Gwen was also so helpful and kind with all of my questions before we left (as there were many). I had everything I needed at every stop. I know I couldn't have planned this trip with Gwen's help and assistance. We will be returning customers!

Great service

By: Marietta


Reviewed on: 08 Apr 2015

Gwen was extremely helpful in arranging reservations at the Oberoi hotels in India. I had already made the reservation, but in talking to Gwen found out LF Travel could take over the reservation. It was not a simple process, but she persisted. She was also able to secure a breakfast and lunch for our third party in the room. The hotels were amazing, hard to describe how perfect the properties were and the service. I wish we could have stayed longer at the hotels, especially the Oberoi Rajvilas. The luxury tent villa was such a treat for us. At the hotel we did the cooking class, which was a lot of fun, interesting ... and delicious. thank you for your great service!

Extremely Helpful

By: Jack


Reviewed on: 25 Apr 2015

Because of illness, it was necessary to cancel my trip. Gwen had been a tremendous help in putting our trip together. She worked hard and put together a great trip for my wife and me. After I had to cancel, she continued with heroic efforts to help us with our trip cancellation insurance claim. We believe that we can arrange to take our trip later in the year and would not consider going to anyone else for help.

Wonderful organization and follow through

By: Debbie C


Reviewed on: 27 Jul 2015

Gwen Trucco was our agent at LF Travel not Monica Varri, Gwen was professional in every way and very enjoyable with whom to work. She kept us informed at each step in the process and her document preparation was meticulous. We loved our hotels and enjoyed the Tauck Rhine Cruise on their new ship. She was very responsible to select our BA seats for us on both ends of the flights 24 hours ahead of time. We could not pre-select them without an extra fee since we wanted to book through AA. Gwen was a delight and we were always very confident that she would send us in the right direction.

Wonderful service!

By: Monica S


Reviewed on: 12 Jul 2015

Gwen was able to put my trip together with very little notice and it was wonderful. Thank you!

Great help!

By: Austin


Reviewed on: 31 Jul 2015

She was very insightful when we had questions about specific honeymoon locations. She knew a lot about each location and would respond in a timely manner

Very flexible

By: Ger


Reviewed on: 07 Jan 2016

Gwen booked our tour of Normandy France and then the Champagne region and both were excellent! We had the same driver on all 3 days and he was outstanding. Everything went perfectly. Thank you.

Washington DC Hotel

By: OrlandoPaul


Reviewed on: 29 Mar 2016

The Kimpton Monoco in Washington D.C. was an excellent suggestion by Gwen. It is full of history and is actually owned by the Smithsonian Institute but managed by the Kimpton Hotel Company. Perfect location directly next door to the International Spy Museum and 4 blocks from the National Mall. All Tourist sights are within walking distance. Thank you Gwen.

Great advice!

By: Mary 87


Reviewed on: 04 Jun 2016

Our trip was perfect!!. My Grandchildren and I had a Beautiful and happy trip to Great Britain, and it was definetly because of the help from all of you people!!

Great advise, friendly and informative. Looked into the best options for our needs and wants.

By: MonicaS


Reviewed on: 25 Aug 2016

Gwen was very helpful in putting together a spectacular cruise and trip to Alaska that was memorable an breathtaking. We appreciated all the help that she gave us and will definitely use her again in the future for our next trips. She explored different options for us and made the choices so easy. Thank you!

Gwen was great

By: d


Reviewed on: 31 Oct 2016

Gwen did a remarkable job and she was fun with whom to work. I am constantly amazed that this was yet again sent to my husband and not me. I planned and paid for the entire trip and his name comes up instead of mine and the evaluation was sent to him yet again. Really hard to imagine it takes years to fix this.

Expert friendly service

By: TravelGal


Reviewed on: 10 Oct 2016

Gwen is always fun and quick to arrange our travel. She presents alternatives and knows the properties. We love working with her. If she is not available, she makes sure that a trusted colleague is. Our travel is planned with great dispatch.

Excellent service.

By: Monica S


Reviewed on: 18 Oct 2016

As always, Gwen gave great advice, booked a wonderful hotel where we were able to upgrade at check-in and helpful in every way. Wonderful time. Thank you!

Thailand Business Trip

By: Dan


Reviewed on: 27 Feb 2017

Gwen was great to work with and put together the best options available for my flights to meet my time frame and also be considerate of the best options for the cost of the tickets.

Turks & Caicos

By: Stephanie


Reviewed on: 10 Apr 2017

Easy, responsive, various ideas

Gwen Trucco

By: Ron


Reviewed on: 30 May 2017

Always ready to do whatever is required and more.

Gwen

By: Dan


Reviewed on: 06 Jul 2017

Gwen was very responsive and had good ideas and insights to our trip. We will use Gwen again on our next trip to Europe. She saved us money and got us better service at hour hotels and travel tix.

Great

By: Fun trip!


Reviewed on: 01 Aug 2017

My husband and I scheduled a trip to Costa Rica with Gwen. The trip options were great, and provided very good detail on excursions. She made sure we were picked up at the airport. The overall trip was excellent.

Iceland & Copenhagen Trip

By: Jay


Reviewed on: 28 Sep 2017

Gwen has gotten to know what I expect after the first trip cruising the Mediterranean. She hasn't let me down after my second trip to Iceland and Copenhagen. I can't say enough about how all details were taken care of and the first class service I've received from her and Lake Forest Travel. I don't need to find another travel agent. Ever!

huh what?

By: jan


Reviewed on: 26 Feb 2018

great. I have sent her several other clients.

great

By: Terry


Reviewed on: 22 Feb 2018

great and easy to work with

Great Trip

By: Michele


Reviewed on: 26 May 2018

Love working with Gwen. She is the best. Always finds exactly what I need to have a successful travel experience!

Thanks Gwen!

By: Ceil and Mac


Reviewed on: 26 Aug 2018

Very helpful. Working with Gwen made making travel plans very easy.

Professional Travel Guru!

By: Minna


Reviewed on: 14 Nov 2018

Gwen is a thoughtful, experienced, passionate travel expert! She listens and responds to create very personalized adventures!

Miami

By: Dan


Reviewed on: 12 Apr 2019

Gwen is our go-to for all things travel. she has been virtually everywhere, has good insights and great deals on fantastic hotels. We won't ever plan a big trip without her.

Positive

By: Harry


Reviewed on: 18 May 2019

Gwen does a great job. She is thorough and pays attention to details. It is a pleasure to work with her.

Kudos for Gwen

By: Mickey


Reviewed on: 16 Jun 2019

She is a true professional. Knowledgeable & efficient! Gwen always responds promptly & carefully assessed her client’s needs.

Great Service

By: DS


Reviewed on: 22 Jul 2019

Gwen is the best. She is very attentive and everything always works out well. Thank you Gwen!

Iceland the shapes of water

By: Anne


Reviewed on: 17 Aug 2019

Gwen is creative and responsive when helping to plan our travels. She listens thoughtfully to our needs and provides options and recommendations. We trust her expertise and count on her extensive knowledge of the travel industry.

Normandy

By: Dan


Reviewed on: 19 Aug 2019

Gwen is a sensation partner in our travel planning. She has great insights and ideas for our travel needs.

She got us nice rooms at the Carlyle

By: KK


Reviewed on: 22 Jan 2020

Gwen booked us at the Carlyle in NYC and we received the complimentary breakfast each morning which was a good value.

Great service

By: Niles


Reviewed on: 13 Feb 2020

Gwen is very experienced and response. A first class travel advisor

Seabourn Cruise

By: Harry


Reviewed on: 25 Feb 2020

She is attentive, personable and professional.

Working with Gwen Pullman Trucco, you will have access to:

  • - Special perks and extra amenities
  • - An experienced travel guide whom you can rely on before, during, and after the trip
  • - Exclusive luxury resorts and properties
  • - Once in a lifetime experiences

Explore with the Best

Virtuoso Advisors are constantly pushing the boundaries in unique travel experiences.
Alliance programs are unique tailored experiences exclusive to travelers working with Virtuoso Travel Advisors.
learn more