Liana Kraushaar Merriman 

New York City, NY United States
Swoon Travel, an independent affiliate of SmartFlyer
 100%
Recommended
74
Reviews
 
Travel Specialties
Interests
  • Beach & Sun
  • Culture, History & Arts
  • Family Travel
  • Hotels
  • Safari


Destinations
  • British Virgin Islands
  • United States - All
  • Anguilla
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • View More...
Selling Travel Since
2018
Languages
  • English

My Background

Liana has been planning itineraries and traveling the world for as long as she can remember. What started as an unlikely obsession with luxury hotels when she was just a teenager, grew into a true passion for the travel industry that has continued in earnest throughout her entire personal and professional life. Liana completed a masters degree in hospitality management from Cornell University, and has had a 10 year career working in luxury hotels in New York City, most recently with Rosewood Hotel Group and Four Seasons. Liana decided in 2018 to make the leap and begin booking travel full time in order to put her lifelong knowledge and passion for travel to work for her clients.

Liana has traveled most extensively through the Caribbean (favorite island: Virgin Gorda) and Europe (favorite city: Vienna) but has visited over 40 countries and continues to discover new destinations every year. When she is not traveling, researching, or planning itineraries, Liana loves spending time at home with her husband in Brooklyn, NY. She is an avid reader, an animal lover, a perpetual student of art, history and architecture, and an advocate for small, sustainable farming practices, such as those practiced by her family’s farm in the Hudson Valley.

Places I Have Traveled


Reviews and Recommendations for Liana Kraushaar Merriman

100%

of 74
guests
recommend


Virtuoso Verified Traveler

All reviews are from confirmed guests sharing exclusive insights

Sort reviews by

Upstate trip

By: Devon


Reviewed on: 13 May 2018

Amazing! Liana is truly fantastic. She took care of every detail and planned a fabulous trip that was truly beyond anything I could have come up with.

Great trip!

By: J.P.


Reviewed on: 18 May 2018

Liana was so helpful in arranging accommodations and a visit to Edinburgh for both me and my wife this May. As an added bonus, she went out of her way to have a few special notes and surprises in the room for us when we arrived, as it was a bit of a "babymoon" of sorts for my wife. Two big thumbs up, can't wait to plan our next trip with Liana as well!

Amsterdam Trip

By: hojo4nyc@me.com


Reviewed on: 23 Jun 2018

Fantastic!! Knowledgeable and committed to exceeding every expectation, however challenging. Terrific follow-up and very focused at every level of engagement. Listens well to learn preferences and makes smart, well-researched recommendations that really hit the mark. Smooth and pain free in every respect. Already at work on trips through 2019. Thanks Liana!!

Liana

By: Trevor


Reviewed on: 17 Jul 2018

Fantastic! Liana was such a pleasure to work with. She had great recommendations and was incredibly organized.

The Best!

By: Scotto


Reviewed on: 17 Jul 2018

Liana is fantastic -- enthusiastic, resourceful, prompt and extremely knowledgeable. Looking forward to working with her in the future.

The New York Edition

By: Corinne


Reviewed on: 17 Jul 2018

I would highly recommend Liana when looking to book a hotel stay or a holiday. She found me and my partner the perfect hotel to celebrate his birthday in NYC. When booking through Liana you also get amazing extra perks that make your stay even more special. Liana is very professional and great to work with. She is that good we have asked her to book our honeymoon.

So helpful!

By: Cpteam


Reviewed on: 27 Jul 2018

Liana was exceptionally helpful and so easy to work with! We had to make several changes to our reservation and she was happily able to accommodate us every time. Will definitely use her help again!

Great 15 year anniversary trip!

By: TravelHound


Reviewed on: 30 Aug 2018

Had a wonderfully romantic trip to the Amalfi Coast for our 15th anniversary. Liana was very knowledgeable and helpful, and went the extra mile to make sure we had a truly exceptional experience! Great recommendations...! She also prepared a very helpful itinerary including portions of the trip that she had not organized and my wife was probably as impressed by the level or organization as the trip itself! Thanks Liana!

Liana Merriman

By: Mm


Reviewed on: 23 Aug 2018

Absolutely amazing. Liana was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. She listened to what we wanted and tailored our trip to our exact specifications. Liana also gave us great ideas and made sure no stone was unturned. She was always in contact with us and our hotels and tours.

Excellent service

By: Katz family


Reviewed on: 28 Aug 2018

Liana was great to work with. I would recommend her services highly.

An amazing trip I never would've planned on my own!

By: BW


Reviewed on: 03 Sep 2018

I LOVED working with Liana on my trip! I had a few places in mind when I came to her, but I wasn't sure which would be worth the money or how they all compared. She gave such great, honest advice and helped me figure out what exactly I was looking for. And then she hooked me up with amazing perks! The Four Seasons staff literally treated me like a celebrity it was crazy. I never would have booked there on my own without the perks and advice from Liana, but I'm SO glad I did. I definitely recommend!

Wonderful trip to Scotland

By: Judd


Reviewed on: 14 Sep 2018

Absolutely terrific from our first conversation. Liana is so knowledgeable and responsive. She put together a fabulous itinerary and really figured out exactly what sights and hotels matched our interests and needs. She reached out during our trip to make sure all our needs were being met. What a lovely partner and so easy to work with! We plan to use Liana for all our travels and in fact are already in the midst of planning our next trip to Spain and France with Liana’s help.

Wonderful experience!

By: Dayz


Reviewed on: 14 Sep 2018

So wonderful! She was easy to communicate with, so organized and nice!

Great Agent

By: Sberrie


Reviewed on: 16 Sep 2018

Lianna is an excellent travel agent. She was patient, creative, and secured us the best possible deal for our amazing weekend trip to Turks and Caico‘s. Thank you!!

5 star service!

By: Christina


Reviewed on: 13 Sep 2018

Liana was incredibly knowledgable and such a pleasure to work with! She had excellent recommendations for our itinerary.

Amazing experience

By: Rachel Gray


Reviewed on: 19 Sep 2018

Liana was fantastic to work with. She is very professional, responded promptly, is extreamely organized, but most importantly, she underwood perfectly what we were looking for. She is incredibly knowledgeable and made it easy to make decisions and plan our trip.

Paris trip

By: Mm


Reviewed on: 28 Sep 2018

Liana was an excellent trip advisor. She is extremely knowledgeable about traveling and hotels. She had wonderful ideas for excursions and activities for us. Absolutely love working with Liana and would definitely recommend her to anyone.

Highly Recommended

By: Lisa


Reviewed on: 11 Oct 2018

Liana found a great hotel for us. It was in a great location, close to many of the sites we wanted to see, but on a quiet street. She responded quickly to any emails we sent, and was able to get reservations at all the restaurants we asked about. She was polite and friendly, and never made me feel uncomfortable calling her. I highly recommend Liana, and I will use her for all of my future trips.

Bermuda

By: JP


Reviewed on: 08 Oct 2018

Everything went perfect. Well Done.

Trip to Spain

By: R & B


Reviewed on: 12 Oct 2018

Liana was easy to work with understood exactly what we wanted. She planned our 12 day trip to Spain. The trip flowed seamlessly, it was laid out well. Liana scheduled guides for us at all our destinations which on our own we would never have done. The personalized guides really made the trip. All the connections, hotels and transfers worked perfectly. We highly recommend her and will be using her for our next trip

Amazing

By: STACEY BPK


Reviewed on: 28 Oct 2018

The best client care. Available all the time. Super knowledgeable. Highly recommend for all travel needs big or small!

Great trip

By: Luna


Reviewed on: 29 Oct 2018

Liana is very organized and incredibly pleasant to work with. She arranged a great trip for us.

Great trip to Basque Country & Bordeaux

By: Theo


Reviewed on: 01 Nov 2018

Liana is a gem. From our first phone call, Liana listened carefully to our interests, offered a range of exciting travel ideas, and then helped us pick the perfect mix of memorable travel experiences. We knew little about northern Spain and Southwest France, but Liana was a font of knowledge both with respect to the history and culture of the region as well as being a guide to the best hotels, restaurants, and vineyards. Liana exudes passion about traveling and certainly knows her stuff. We’ve already referred several of our friends and can’t wait to plan our next trip. Liana, you’re the best!!

Business Trip to Israel

By: Roy Kozupsky/Rimon


Reviewed on: 02 Nov 2018

Her work was excellent. Highly professional, extremely attentive.

Fantastic customer service!

By: hud1226


Reviewed on: 07 Nov 2018

Wonderful! Liana was extremely responsive before, during and after the trip. She didn’t skip a beat when we had to make last minute changes to our trip. Her hotel and restaurant recommendations were excellent. She made sure the hotel knew our preferences and that we were treated like royalty during our stay.

Wonderful Adventure

By: traveler


Reviewed on: 27 Nov 2018

Liana is so very personable and easy to work with. She was very responsive to all our questions and needs. She created a detailed itinerary that fit our hopes for our adventure. The trip was really wonderful. We LOVED the SmartFlyer app too!!! We will definitely be calling Liana for our next trip.

Bahamas babymoon

By: Jordy


Reviewed on: 16 Dec 2018

Liana was great to work with. She was responsive, professional, answered all of our questions, and worked with us to find and place and a rate that we were very happy with. There were no surprise charges or issues encountered on the vacation. We had an awesome time thanks to her planning!

Excellent!

By: SK


Reviewed on: 03 Jan 2019

Always provides excellent and timely assistance

Pink Door in Palm Springs.

By: JLB


Reviewed on: 10 Jan 2019

Working with Liana was great. She is extremely knowledgeable and helpful and found us a perfect house for our family vacation.

Outstanding attention

By: Stacey K


Reviewed on: 11 Jan 2019

Liana is an outstanding travel consultant. She is on top of everything, super responsive, extremely knowledgeable and simply makes every aspect of travel run smoothly. I would highly highly recommend working with her!

Another great trip planned by Liana.

By: Suzanne G


Reviewed on: 28 Jan 2019

This was our third trip planned by Liana. As usual, it was amazing! It doesn’t matter if it’s a once-a-lifetime trip to someplace exotic or just a quick get away to Turks &Caicos... Liana knows all the right places to send us. We stayed at the Shore Club and loved it! And the room upgrade we got when we checked in wasn’t too shabby either! Thanks Liana! Gotta start thinking about our next trip.....

Great experience!

By: Devin


Reviewed on: 29 Jan 2019

Liana was fantastic to work with! I was looking for ideas for an upcoming vacation, but didn't have the time to do the upfront research. Liana listened to what i was looking for, researched and summarized various options, and then added personal insights based on her experience to help me make an informed and smart decision. From there, she handled all of the details - and went above and beyond to ensure we had a perfect experience! Can't wait to work with Liana again.

The best

By: Stacey


Reviewed on: 18 Feb 2019

Outstanding service. Attentive and knowledgeable. Highly recommend!

Great as always

By: J.P.


Reviewed on: 10 Mar 2019

Liana is the best - always super helpful. Our Villa was fantastic, and we even had some complementary champagne waiting for us on arrival. Two thumbs up, as always!

Ireland

By: mm


Reviewed on: 21 Mar 2019

We absolutely love working with Liana! She once again planned an incredible trip for us. Liana truly knows about travel and never misses any detail. She is probably the best travel advisor we ever worked with and is always a pleasure to talk to.

Los Angeles Trip

By: Kathy


Reviewed on: 23 Mar 2019

Liana was excellent to work with and we will definitely use her in the future.

Liana is incredible!

By: Ben


Reviewed on: 04 Apr 2019

I was planning an extremely complicated business trip for approx. 10 colleagues (arriving and departing on different dates), which entailed seemingly endless reservation changes. From start to finish, Liana was friendly, incredibly competent and, above all, patient! She helped me arrange a significantly lower rate than was available online, kept meticulous schedules of the reservations, responded very promptly (usually instantaneously)...the list goes on. I cannot recommend her enough and would work with her again in a heartbeat.

Mexico City

By: Luna


Reviewed on: 15 Apr 2019

Working with Liana was a pleasure. She is incredibly knowledgeable and organized. Everything you would want in a travel consultant when planning a trip to a city you have never been to before.

Portugal

By: SM


Reviewed on: 01 May 2019

We just returned from an incredible 10 day trip to Portugal. She helped conceptualize our trip from the beginning, guiding us towards which cities and regions to visit and made amazing recommendations for our accommodations. Working with Liana through the planning process was a breeze! She was very knowledgeable, prompt with responses to questions and very flexible with my indecision! Each place we stayed, although reasonably priced, was absolutely top notch in service and amenities and we were welcomed by a nice surprise including chocolates, wine and port (and even upgrades to suites, more than once!) and a personal note from Liana. Even my mom, who is difficult to please, was very impressed!! We will definitely be using Liana again for future trips!

An Amazing Trip!

By: Wendy


Reviewed on: 04 May 2019

I loved working with Liana! She is knowledgeable, responsive and very patient. She coordinated a wonderful week in Australia, organizing air, hotel/lodge and restaurants. When we wanted to make a change while we were there, she responded immediately and worked into late hours of the night. This was the first time I worked with her and I will definitely be using her again.

encore

By: rich v


Reviewed on: 09 Jun 2019

Liana is amazing

First time with a travel advisor!

By: JB


Reviewed on: 10 Jun 2019

Liana was so great to work with. I typically book all my own travel directly. Liana emphasized that she is able to contribute as much or as a little support as a customer needs/wants. This approach worked perfect. She is full of great ideas and fun to chat with about global travel possibilities. Thanks and look forward to working with you again soon!

Italy

By: Gillian


Reviewed on: 17 Jun 2019

As always -wonderful. Sadly we had a loss in the family and our trip had to be cancelled at the last minute. Liana could not have been more helpful and kind. We look forward to planning and booking our future trip with Liana.

Amazing!

By: Devon


Reviewed on: 16 Jun 2019

Liana is truly the best! She took care of every detail, and made our trip truly wonderful. From getting our room upgraded to sending a little welcome gift, we couldn’t have asked for a better travel agent extraordinaire! Thanks again for everything

Liana is superb!

By: Opp


Reviewed on: 15 Jun 2019

Liana is patient, creative, and knowledgeable. She goes above and beyond and I highly recommend her!

Fabulous!

By: Cline


Reviewed on: 22 Jun 2019

Liana has booked many vacations for my family and is always dilligent, detail oriented and truly cares that her clients have a great time. She’s extremely knowledgeable about a plethora of destinations. Not to mention, she has arranged fabulous upgrades and perks with many hotels. She’s the best!! Cannot highly enough recommend!

Superstar Modern Travel Agent

By: David Holder


Reviewed on: 27 Jun 2019

Liana is a true superstar. I haven't used a travel agent in years as I have always found it quicker and easier to book everything online. I came across Liana randomly and called her. We had one conversation (which she took while she was on vacation herself) and from there speedily put together an itinerary of super luxe hotels and luxury car hire. 2 of the hotels she chose were amazing, among the best we have experienced. Each hotel made a fuss of us at check in, with cards, wine (specifically sourced to our taste), upgrades etc. A small error with the car hire company was rectified within minutes with an apology, I'm certain that this was only because she was involved. Her industry colleagues respect her and value her. All in all I cant believe that I haven't used a travel agent for almost 20 years, Liana has changed my perspective and I will not hesitate to call on her again for any new requirements that include luxury travel.

Review

By: Stephanie


Reviewed on: 14 Jul 2019

Liana was fantastic. Would never plan another trip without her!

Liana

By: Rich Velardi


Reviewed on: 18 Jul 2019

Liana was outstanding. She was helpful, responsive, and knowledgeable. I plan to use her for all of my future trips.

I recommend Liana

By: Cindy


Reviewed on: 24 Jul 2019

Liana was a total professional. She responded to me very quickly. The hotel was causing a minor issue at the time of booking, and she very clearly explained it to me. We went ahead with the booking, and we had a fantastic stay. I will definitely use her again! :)

Croatia, July 2019

By: Emily


Reviewed on: 01 Aug 2019

Liana was great about going above and beyond to ensure we had the trip of a lifetime in Croatia. From selecting the best accommodations to a handwritten welcome at each spot, no detail was overlooked. The Little Green Bay was one of the most special places I've ever stayed and we never would have found it without Liana's help. It was perfect!

Liana is FANTASTIC

By: Rachel Gray


Reviewed on: 29 Jul 2019

Liana is always the best to work with. She understands what we are looking for when we travel and has has amazing recommendations. She is very professional and organized.

Perfect hotel to stay while in Normandy

By: Val


Reviewed on: 05 Aug 2019

Lianna was wonderful to work with, responsive, not pushy and very knowledgable. We will use her again for sure.

Laguna Beach

By: Stacey K


Reviewed on: 05 Aug 2019

Always outstanding service with Swoon and Liana. From top notch restaurant recommendations to the best sights to see to hotel amenities and treatment you could never get by booking on your own or even through Amex. She gets the best rates, the best packages, the best deals with no additional cost to her clients. Cannot recommend highly enough!

Honeymoon

By: Diana


Reviewed on: 28 Oct 2019

Our experience working with Liana was great! She planned our honeymoon and it was the trip of a lifeline - she made the entire experience so seamless and special!!

Amazing!

By: Dan


Reviewed on: 12 Aug 2019

Liana was extremely helpful throughout the entire process! My wife and I had an amazing quick getaway all thanks to her. I couldn’t recommend working with her more.

Liana is an amazing travel advisor.

By: Mm


Reviewed on: 18 Aug 2019

Liana was just amazing to work with. Every detail was perfect! Liana is very knowledgeable about travel and truly knows the business. She always got back to us quickly with answers. We have booked numerous trips with Liana and would highly recommend her. We can’t wait to plan our next adventure with Liana!

TN Magic

By: Sfreedman


Reviewed on: 17 Aug 2019

Liana was fantastic! Her enthusiasm, expertise and ability to pull together a trip for me and my family in a week was truly impressive e and greatly appreciated!

Amazing

By: Cps


Reviewed on: 11 Sep 2019

Liana is great. She is so easy to work with, always responsive to all my questions and schedule changes and completely flexible. She never makes me feel bad for contacting her wayyy too often. Love working with her

Thanks!

By: SK


Reviewed on: 29 Sep 2019

Awesome as always

smooth sailing!

By: srk63


Reviewed on: 01 Oct 2019

Liana worked with us to plan our trip on a Danube River Cruise and on to Prague. It was our first trip to Europe in 35 years, and we couldn't believe how perfect everything was! We loved the hotel in Prague that she chose for us (the Boho Prague) and the tour that was planned in Prague was amazing! Our flight connections and transfers went smoothly. We had a great time, and working with Liana was a breeze!

Italy

By: Randi & Bill


Reviewed on: 05 Oct 2019

Liana put together and booked a 14 day trip for 3 of us to Venice,Bologna, Tuscany & Rome. The trip was well laid out and went off without a hitch. She was terrific, easy to work with, and understood what we wanted. This was the 2nd time Liana put together a trip for us.

Great trip to Portugal

By: SA


Reviewed on: 29 Sep 2019

Great! Liana was wonderful- she picked perfect hotels, was available for recommendations during our trip and had recommendations ahead of time that were lovely! Highly recommend!

Excellent!! 5 stars!!!

By: Yael


Reviewed on: 29 Sep 2019

Liana was amazing to work with. Extremely knowledgable and passionate about travel. Made great suggestions and was quick to respond.

Liana is the absolute best!

By: Carlisle & Max


Reviewed on: 04 Oct 2019

We don't have enough great things to say about Liana. From the moment we were introduced, she was extremely helpful, responsive, and professional. With all of the chaos of our wedding planning, we knew we wanted a fun and relaxing honeymoon but had no clue where to start and, honestly, no desire to plan it. Liana took the guesswork out of everything, giving us suggestions and honest feedback about our questions for her. She reminded of us deadlines, kept us updated of any changes to our trip as they arose, and always handled those changes before we even needed to. From the hotels she suggested/booked to the dinner reservations & excursions, our honeymoon was truly the best trip we have ever been on and we owe all of it to Liana. I have already given her name out to all of our friends in their honeymoon planning process, and she is the only person we will trust with our vacations from here on out!

Awesome

By: Matt


Reviewed on: 04 Oct 2019

Liana is awesome. She's quick to reply and really cared about making sure my trip went well. I had a nice little welcome amenity and note from her when I entered my upgraded suite. Highly recommend.

Liana is wonderful!

By: Wendy


Reviewed on: 05 Oct 2019

Working with Liana was a pleasure! She is responsive, a good listener and extremely knowledgeable. She's worked with us on two trips and both were exceptional. I highly recommend her!

The best!

By: StaceyPK


Reviewed on: 07 Oct 2019

Working with Liana makes travelling so much less stressful! She is always responsive, is incredibly knowledgeable and always comes through.

Best couples trip to Miami

By: AMB


Reviewed on: 20 Oct 2019

Liana was amazing! My husband and I were looking to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. I didn’t want to go too far, but my husband really wanted to go to the Caribbean. I asked Liana to help plan a trip that would be good for a couples and explained our likes/dislikes. Liana picked the PERFECT property for us in Miami that far exceeded all of our expectations. She really steered us in the right direction and our trip was wonderful. We had an amazing time.

Great travel consultant

By: TravelBug


Reviewed on: 31 Oct 2019

Great. She is very knowledgeable, responsive, and easy to work with.

An incredible, once in a lifetime trip to Africa!

By: TheTravelmeister


Reviewed on: 02 Nov 2019

Liana has planned 5 trips for us this year alone. Just when you thought it couldn’t get any better - she sends us on our most outrageously fun travel experience yet! Going to Africa requires intense planning, organization and on the ground knowledge. From start to finish, including a multitude of domestic flights, transfers, hotels and daily safari excursions, everything was flawless. Liana knocked it out of the park. Our trip took us to Dubai, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and a final two day rest on the Greek Riviera on our way home. Liana planned different types of lodging and safari experiences which enabled us to get a wide perspective on different ways to enjoy the African Safari experience. We just finalized our next trip in January with our favorite travel consultant!! Liana @ Swoon Travel - we don’t know what we’d do without you !!

Liana is the best!

By: PSL


Reviewed on: 16 Nov 2019

Liana referred us to the fabulous Shangri-la hotel in Sydney, where we spent 6 nights. Plus, she got us a fabulous deal, What more could anyone ask?

Easy Peazy

By: Jeff R.


Reviewed on: 18 Nov 2019

Liana has helped my wife and I find amazing places to stay in NYC and working with her is a total breeze. So nice to be able to just tell her what we're looking for and what our budget is and then get a few options back instead of trying to fight through all the travel sites. She's been able to get cool perks/extra amenities too which I'll never complain about. :) Liana is great!

The BEST of the BEST

By: Steph


Reviewed on: 18 Nov 2019

Working with Liana is an absolute DREAM. From the first email to the first trip in the books together, Liana went above and beyond every step of the way! Liana made sure she understood what we look for in a vacation and overdelivered time and time again. She made it known she was thinking of us at every hotel during our trip. We couldn't ask for more in a travel agent and can't wait to book our next trip together!

Working with Liana Kraushaar Merriman, you will have access to:

  • - Special perks and extra amenities
  • - An experienced travel guide whom you can rely on before, during, and after the trip
  • - Exclusive luxury resorts and properties
  • - Once in a lifetime experiences

Explore with the Best

Virtuoso Advisors are constantly pushing the boundaries in unique travel experiences.
Alliance programs are unique tailored experiences exclusive to travelers working with Virtuoso Travel Advisors.
learn more
  • British Virgin Islands
  • United States - All
  • Anguilla
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • Vietnam
  • Maldives
  • Greece
  • Indonesia
  • Saint Barthélemy
  • Sri Lanka
  • Costa Rica
  • Israel
  • Australia
  • Italy