Rachel Hardy 

Louisville, KY United States
Why work with an advisor? 
 100%
Recommended
20
Reviews
 
Travel Specialties
Interests
  • Rail
  • Adventure
  • Sports & Outdoors
  • Safari


Destinations
  • Canada
  • Kenya
  • Spain
  • Peru
  • Chile
Selling Travel Since
2015
Languages
  • English

My Background

I literally grew up with The Society of International Railway Travelers. Our family-owned company was born in 1983 -- 4 years before I was born. So we grew up together, and I have grown up traveling. A political science major at the College of Charleston, I founded my own company, Bluegrass Voodoo Vintage. But now I work full-time at the Society of IRT as a luxury travel advisor with Virtuoso Certified Travel Advisor training and as VP for Sales & Marketing for our company. I was thrilled to be the only American advisor invited to see the brand-new Grand Suites on the Venice Simplon-Orient-Express on their inaugural run. I welcome you to see my blog post, Track 25, http://blog.irtsociety.com/category/canadian-rail-... to see all about my recent study tour to Canada to review one of our World's Top 25 Trains, The Rocky Mountaineer. If you'd like me to arrange a Canadian luxury rail vacation, I can share with you all my knowledge about the region and the fantastic train. I also recently enjoyed a study tour to Chile - and experienced one of the top VAST products, Explora Lodge. Call to let me tell you about the Towers hike! Or, call to chat about our favorite Peruvian Amazon adventure cruise. I loved it -- let me tell you why!

Places I Have Traveled


Reviews and Recommendations for Rachel Hardy

100%

of 20
guests
recommend


Virtuoso Verified Traveler

All reviews are from confirmed guests sharing exclusive insights

Sort reviews by

Attention to details makes the trip an A+ experience

By: Mimi


Reviewed on: 05 Oct 2016

Rachel did a wonderful job planning our trip and making sure all our needs were taken care of. She gave us great advice in planning the trip. Even tough we were setting up the trip a little late, she was able to swing us the best hotels. I needed to be gluten free and Rachel made sure the trains had food I could eat. Rachel checked out the situations at a couple of our stops and got us dinner reservations when she learned of crowded conditions. She was so on top of things she learned that our return flight had been altered by the airline. The airline did not bother to tell us about the change, but Rachel informed us. IRT's itinerary was detailed and helpful. We highly recommend IRT and Rachel.

Outstanding railroad tour

By: Marty


Reviewed on: 09 Oct 2016

The Belmond Grand Hibernian Railway Tour was an outstanding experience. It was luxury rail travel with a broad sampling of the history and heart of Ireland. We especially enjoyed our visit to historic Ashford Castle and the falconry experience with Harris Hawks. The tour and associated whiskey tasting at the historic Jameson Distillery outside of Cork was not only fun, but extremely interesting. The train travel was truly luxurious, as exemplified by the piper leading us on board the first day. The configuration of the train, which included two dining cars with simultaneous seating for all passengers, as well as an observation car that would seat everyone, was very, very nice. The after-dinner on-train entertainment featuring Irish folk music was as good as the Irish folk music we had heard in the pubs during a Music Tour a couple years ago. The Titanic Experience in Belfast, as well as the Waterford Crystal facility, were also high points.

Great assistance throughout

By: Claudine567


Reviewed on: 12 Nov 2016

Rachel was incredibly helpful and proactive through the entire trip planning process!

Great from my very first phone call!

By: JRobert


Reviewed on: 27 Jan 2017

Rachel Hardy was super --enthusiastic,responsive,accomodating,dedicated.Attended to ever detail promptly and accurately.Answered all my questions and requests cheerfully.She was a pleasure to deal with.

Train Trip in India

By: Radman


Reviewed on: 07 Apr 2017

She was informative and always available

Canadian rockies

By: Sandy


Reviewed on: 23 Aug 2017

Rachel was extraordinary. She took care of every detail of my family trip. She arranged the airport picks, the guides, the hotels, the train, and the dinner reservations every evening for 13 people. Nothing was too much for her to do. (She even arranged to have perfect weather.) There was nothing I would have changed on the trip. I can not express how pleased I was with her. I am looking forward to working with her on all our future trips

Orient Express Holiday

By: Gwyn


Reviewed on: 04 Sep 2017

Rachel is very professional, responsive and knowledgeable- she was a great help in planning my trip. Every question I had she answered immediately and went out of her way to make sure I was happy with the choices I made- hotels,etc. I would definitely recommend working with her- you'll get great results!

Canada rail trip

By: john


Reviewed on: 07 Sep 2017

Favorable experience

Comfortable Canada

By: Bill


Reviewed on: 18 Nov 2017

Working with Rachel was very pleasant. She anticipated any potential problems before they could happen. Everything flowed smoothly; very professional. We are already working with her on another trip, and happy to be doing so.

Seven Star Kyushu train

By: Sandy


Reviewed on: 02 Dec 2017

Wonderful. She was also cheerful, knowledgeable and ready to help. No request was too much for her. Our trip was terrific

Danube Christmas Markets

By: Bill


Reviewed on: 04 Jan 2018

As always, all the folks at IRT set up a perfect trip for us that was the perfect combination of planning and anticipation. The arrangements could not have been better.

Golden Eagle- Northern Lights

By: SueEllen


Reviewed on: 02 Mar 2018

Very responsive and accommodating!!

Elbe River Cruise Plus

By: Bill


Reviewed on: 13 Jun 2018

As always, pleasant and efficient. The trip was a complete success, a big part of which was due to Rachel's continual monitoring of our progress. We could not be more pleased with the service rendered.

Micato Safari

By: Gilla


Reviewed on: 25 Aug 2018

Working with Rachel Hardy was an absolute delight. She was so very helpful from the moment we contacted her to the completion of our trip. She first advised us that Micato Safaris was an excellent company and that turned out to be absolutely true. We could not have asked for a better experience. Rachel provided us with every detail on what we needed for the trip, what preparations were required, information on visas, etc. She was so very helpful in every aspect. She responded quickly to any questions we had. She was so very patient in responding to multiple questions and concerns. She made the whole experience worry free. I can not image anyone more helpful or delightful to work with and we will certainly contact her in the future for any travel interests.

Good Time

By: Armaggedon


Reviewed on: 02 Sep 2018

Easy and painless, excellent service.

Rovos Rail

By: Chuck


Reviewed on: 07 Sep 2018

Everything went off as planed. All hotels, transportation, were as described. Could not have ask for a smoother trip. No Stress.

Hard working very responsive

By: Dave


Reviewed on: 14 Sep 2018

She was wonderful and very responsive to our needs and questions

Positive experience

By: Lucky Lake


Reviewed on: 07 Sep 2018

Rachel was always very responsive and helpful with all aspects of our travel. She was knowledgeable about the trip we were taking and had inside recommendations. She was a pleasure to work with.

Great Train Trip

By: Daneta


Reviewed on: 20 Oct 2018

Rachel was welcoming, accommodating and helpful. She was absolutely correct that this will be a great train trip to South Africa. Actually, this was the best trip I've ever taken and I've been a few places such as Europe & China. My husband and I will be planning our 2021 trip soon to return to Africa. I highly recommend this trip.

From Toronto to Vancouver October 2018

By: Yoda


Reviewed on: 01 Nov 2018

Easy. Rachel was very contentious and responsive in a timely manner with any and all questions.

Working with Rachel Hardy, you will have access to:

  • - Special perks and extra amenities
  • - An experienced travel guide whom you can rely on before, during, and after the trip
  • - Exclusive luxury resorts and properties
  • - Once in a lifetime experiences

Explore with the Best

Virtuoso Advisors are constantly pushing the boundaries in unique travel experiences.
Alliance programs are unique tailored experiences exclusive to travelers working with Virtuoso Travel Advisors.
learn more
  • Canada
  • Kenya
  • Spain
  • Peru
  • Chile