Tom Gehrels 

Toronto, ON Canada
Adventure Coordinators, an independent affiliate of Vision Travel - Toronto
Why work with an advisor? 
 
Travel Specialties
Interests
  • Food & Wine
  • Adventure
  • Safari
  • Culture, History & Arts
  • Family Travel


Destinations
  • Antarctica
  • Argentina
  • Botswana
  • China
  • Costa Rica
  • View More...
Selling Travel Since
1992
Languages
  • Dutch
  • English
  • German

My Background

From a young age I knew I was meant to travel. From youthful trips all around the globe, to cultural discoveries, luxury safaris and polar cruises later in life - I have been to well over 100 countries and travel makes me who I am.

I love what I do - I love working with you, the discerning traveller, to create personalized and unique travel experiences.

I am proud to say I work only with a select group of great destination specialists - companies that have a long track record, an established reputation and that I know and trust. I work closely with them to design and book a unique tailor-made vacation for you.

Put your trust in me and I will make sure you get the holiday of a lifetime - every time.

Places I Have Traveled


Reviews and Recommendations for Tom Gehrels

0%

of 79
guests
recommend


Virtuoso Verified Traveler

All reviews are from confirmed guests sharing exclusive insights

Sort reviews by

South Africa

By: EJG


Reviewed on: 25 Jan 2018

Tom was great to work with - he answered all my questions, offered helpful advice, and was quick to make changes for me when my schedule changed.

Want a Good Trip? See Tom

By: beres8011


Reviewed on: 15 Jan 2018

Tom- Very professional, helpful, organized and knowledgeable.

experience

By: cart


Reviewed on: 19 Jan 2018

Since Tom has traveled so much and has a lot of experience and interest in travel, he has a wealth of suggestions to fit your desires. And he can quickly make the arrangements you need.

Amazing Travel Advisor!

By: C&P


Reviewed on: 22 Jan 2018

We've been working with Tom for over 10 years and he has never disappointed us. He takes the time to learn our likes and dislikes and really get to know us so each trip we plan gets easier and easier because we trust Tom to make amazing choices for us that align with what we like and want! We highly recommend Tom's services!

Africa Trip

By: Stepholm


Reviewed on: 20 Jan 2018

He was awesome and very knowledgeable. Would use him again and plan to do so.

Safari in Tanzania

By: nkk


Reviewed on: 19 Jan 2018

Tom planned an amazing holiday for us, yet again! He is so aware of the details and makes sure that our pick-ups and drop-offs, our guides, the trip, the food and accommodations are top notch! This is our third vacation that Tom planned for us and every time I am impressed. I feel that he takes care of us as if we were his family. We had a last minute problem and needed his help with buying travel insurance for another trip prior to the safari (that he did not plan). There were 10 people in our family traveling together and he arranged for travel insurance within hours of leaving for the holiday. He makes everything trouble-fee for us and eases our minds when traveling.

Antarctica and iguana Falls

By: marion


Reviewed on: 31 Jan 2018

As always , excellent ideas, organization and scheduling....patient with queries Tom is a traveller he knows the business

Excellent!

By: Manon


Reviewed on: 17 Feb 2018

My review counts three words: Tom is excellent!

a difficult trip to plan

By: mac


Reviewed on: 21 Feb 2018

Tom was good at planning for us a fairly complicated itinerary that took us out of the ordinary

Africa

By: Albert


Reviewed on: 15 Feb 2018

It's simple, he's one of the best. Great costumer service, very knowledgeable,very helpful.

Sudan Desert Explorer

By: ivis


Reviewed on: 23 Feb 2018

Tom provides informed advice or gets information from pertinent agency/travel provider in a very timely matter. In addition he sends a list of books and movies to study before the trip. Very useful.

Thank you

By: Sarah


Reviewed on: 27 Mar 2018

We had a long conversation with Tom trying to figure out where to go and he was quick to make some interesting observations and recommendations. It was a good match for us and we thoroughly enjoyed our time on Complete Patagonia with Tucan tours. Tom was available for questions prior to the adventure and we will recommend him to others in the future.

Friend

By: maurus


Reviewed on: 11 Apr 2018

Tom take straightforward approach with just right answers and no BS whatsoever. He works with enormous speed and I have a feeling that he is by me while planning the trip. Whenever he travels, he assigns substitute or letting know when he is back. I feel I have a friend in him.

Beautiful Bali

By: Claude


Reviewed on: 22 Apr 2018

Everything--Tom is very dedicated.

Everything you expect...and more

By: Rover


Reviewed on: 23 Apr 2018

Tom has been helping me with my travel arrangements for 15 years. Not only is he a fountain of travel knowledge, he is also a brilliant project manager when it comes to creating complicated itineraries. He takes care of all the details and is always available to give advice. Exceptional client service.

Great resource for trip planning.

By: Panda bear


Reviewed on: 21 May 2018

Very responsive to questions you may have for a particular trip that you might be interested in.

Galapagos

By: Floyd


Reviewed on: 28 May 2018

Outstanding. Tom has insight to the needs of your trip, arranges beautiful character hotels and there are no surprises. Strongly recommend Tom's services.

Good trip advisor

By: thousandmiles


Reviewed on: 20 Jun 2018

I was thinking a big trip last year. a friend of mine gave me Tom's name. Since I talked to Tom about what type of trip I wanted, he has been very helpful, provides info. He always responds my questions in time and patiently explain various trips to me. He helped booking our Spitsbergen photography -in search of polar bear for us, provided professional suggestiongs to us to prepare the trip. We are happy with his service.

Got the scoop on Hindeloopen.

By: Neil


Reviewed on: 13 Jul 2018

We have always had great trips when Tom helps us with the planning and arrangements. He has a tremendous knowledge of places to go and lots of good ideas for things to do and places to stay. On our recent trip to Holland we loved our hotels and the trip to Hindeloopen was a highlight. Only glitch was that bicycle rental fell through in Hindeloopen due to wrong size bike for my son. However we explored the town on foot and it was beautiful. Even met a sheep whisperer on the dyke, also watched the kite surfers and we hiked all over the place... We also went to Amsterdam and The Hague, which are great places to visit. Of note, our hotel in The Hague, the Kennedy B Aparthotel, was beautiful, had good breakfast included, and was right on the tramline to the beach or downtown. Awesome choice! Thanks Tom for another great travel experience!

Quintessential!

By: Malini


Reviewed on: 14 Aug 2018

Adventure Coordinators is the quintessential travel agency! Tom Gehrels takes care of my every trip booking need, in a friendly, timely and professional way. He uses his extensive experience to add value in the way of offering a range of trip options, helpful travel suggestions and tips. For over 15 years and counting, it has been a pleasure dealing with Tom!

do not underdtand

By: davidah


Reviewed on: 26 Jul 2018

excellent. Provided a lot of input nd suggestions into trip selection.

Agent par excellence

By: happyfeet


Reviewed on: 29 Jul 2018

Always a pleasure; honest, trustworthy, patient. 15+ years of good service. Tom goes beyond what most do. Answers any and all queries on a timely manner. Provides excellent information. Knowledgeable. Look forward to many more years of travel with Tom's professional service.

TRAVEL

By: KIRL


Reviewed on: 16 Aug 2018

We have been clients of Toms for many many years!! he is professional, a wealth of knowledge and always answers e-mails in a timely, efficient manner. We have appreciated and accepted his recommendations on tour companies and countries to visit.

Indonesian

By: Jasper


Reviewed on: 12 Sep 2018

Tom always response promptly to any request with more then enough information to make a good decision. He also sends us information on possible trips that he knows may interest us, especially if they ore on sale.

Excellent advice and service

By: Davie


Reviewed on: 25 Sep 2018

Tom provided excellent advise to help me select a trip. Also, when I had an emergency before joining the group, Tom responded to my emails and helped me resolve the issue, even though it was a Sunday.

Good communication

By: Joan


Reviewed on: 25 Sep 2018

Always a pleasure.

Friend that I have never seen

By: maurus


Reviewed on: 04 Oct 2018

I relay with full confidence on Tom's assistance and advice. He is always available and I have a feeling that if I would need any help he will be right there. I have never seen him, but feel as close as we are traveling together.

Croatia Islands and Mountains

By: Suzana


Reviewed on: 13 Oct 2018

Tom was very professional , answered my questions about the trip details promptly and very helpful with advice selecting this trip.

A great tour advisor.

By: White haired nomad


Reviewed on: 08 Oct 2018

Very professional.

Good Advisor

By: Dave


Reviewed on: 22 Oct 2018

Tom stayed in regular contact and provided me with updates throughout even as details beyond his control caused changes. For whatever reason, the airline cancelled my flight home but he made sure I still got home and had a place to stay for the extra night.

Experience is a plus!

By: Lt_traveller


Reviewed on: 17 Oct 2018

Quick, good suggestions and ideas, good communications

Highly recommend Tom

By: EJ


Reviewed on: 29 Oct 2018

Tom is always a pleasure to work with. He makes sure he understands my preferences and makes great suggestions.

China Visit

By: Panda Bear


Reviewed on: 29 Oct 2018

Tom was responsive to questions and was attentive to details of the itinerary that made the best use of our travel time and sightseeing. His hotel suggestions were first rate and he made sure that we had all proper documentation through repeated requests for copies of passports, visas, etc. We had no problems.

Another awesome trip!

By: B


Reviewed on: 13 Nov 2018

As usual, I got great advice. I was happy with all of the arrangements including the flights. It was a fun trip.

Great Job

By: Miko


Reviewed on: 15 Nov 2018

Tom was great to work with, quick to answer emails and always very helpful with and issues or addition add ons we wanted.

100% dependable

By: Downsie


Reviewed on: 27 Dec 2018

You can always depend on Tom to make great suggestions and plan your trip perfectly.

Iceland

By: Happy


Reviewed on: 23 Dec 2018

As always, competent, informed and honest .

Bookings

By: Albert


Reviewed on: 20 Jan 2019

Great takes care of everything,One of the best

Exceptional

By: lisa


Reviewed on: 13 Jan 2019

Great advice, professional and trustworthy. Highly recommended.

Vietnam

By: Sandra


Reviewed on: 08 Feb 2019

Excellent service from the I'm thinking about a trip stage to the trips conclusion. I have been a client of Tom's for at least 20 years now and hold him in high regard for his insight and recommendations.

Panama Canal Cruise

By: Triplecee


Reviewed on: 07 Feb 2019

Tom was efficient and he handled the booking with Holland America. This took that onus completely off my hands and made time for the rest of the trip aspects. There was very little interaction required with Tom except for helping to change the cabin we booked. He processed the payment to HA very quickly and effectively.

Kilimanjaro Lemosho route + safari

By: bj red


Reviewed on: 09 Mar 2019

Tom was once again an excellent resource and easy to work with, despite having to rebook my trip due to it being cancelled the first time he got my refund to me quickly from the first trip and gave recommendations to rebook right away. I also liked getting the emails as my trip approached with packing lists and things to do in the area I was visiting. This is the second trip I booked with Tom and it was perfect both times. I will be looking to Tom again in the future for my next crazy vacation his knowledge of all the trips makes finding the right one quick and painless especially with all the options out there. I would book through Tom rather than doing it myself online anyday. I had an awesome trip.

Turkey and Israel

By: Albert


Reviewed on: 07 Mar 2019

Knowledgeable,always there to help!

Tom for advisor

By: social adventurist


Reviewed on: 08 Nov 2019

It was good. It's been many years now. Always has recommendations, and reviews. Quick response. Good communication

A VISIT TO TOM IS A MUST!

By: TORONTO TRAVELLER


Reviewed on: 20 Mar 2019

I was incredibly impressed working with Tom Gehrels. He was recommended to me by a friend who had used his services quite extensively. I can see why now. After an initial meeting where Tom had the opportunity to talk with me, share his own insights and all in all, get a sense of the type of traveller I was and the type of trip I was seeking, I was pleased with the results! In about a week's time, he contacted me again and discussed what he thought would be the best options for travel (as this would be my first time in South America). He did not disappoint. He was able to select an itinerary that gave me an incredible overview of this amazing continent and one that was adapted to my physical and intellectual needs. Tom is a very professional, insightful and intuitive consultant. When I decide to seek yet another adventure, he will be the person I contact!!! His expertise is very comforting and his enthusiasm for travel is quite infectious! He is a gift to the profession!

Trekking New Zealand

By: Jo


Reviewed on: 16 Mar 2019

Tom helped us decide which of 2 New Zealand trips better suited us. As usual his experience steered us towards the one more in line with our expectations. Tom has always made sure our vacations were stressless and any add-ons and transfers seamless. Have given his card to many people.

Great Advice

By: BigBear


Reviewed on: 13 Apr 2019

Tom is so knowledgeable, insightful & helpful. He has first hand experience from so many locations. We took his advice & suggestions & had a great vacation experience. From now on he is "Our Guy".

Tour booking

By: LoveTravelling


Reviewed on: 07 May 2019

Tom booked my tour and all was done promptly with all the details I needed.

Tom’s Feedback

By: Dave


Reviewed on: 29 Apr 2019

Tom addressed all my concerns promptly and professionally.

Greece

By: Harry


Reviewed on: 01 Jun 2019

Tom is a very easy person to use for travel advice. He has lots of experience, and helps customize all or part of a trip. In this case he helped with the cruise portion of our trip but he put the extra effort in to review the parts of the trip we planned ourselves to make sure we did not have any surprises.

France 2019

By: ScottB


Reviewed on: 07 Jun 2019

I found Tom quite professional and was a good resource. He was able to answer questions and secure good advice.

Another great trip

By: B.


Reviewed on: 10 Jun 2019

As always, I received great advice. It was another fun trip.

trip to St Petersburg.

By: Aras


Reviewed on: 16 Jun 2019

excellent. He was always responsive to all requests and even last minute changes.

Trusted Travel Planner

By: Chris


Reviewed on: 09 Jul 2019

Tom has been my go-to travel consultant for over 20 years. When planning a trip, Tom provides valuable insight into countries, tour operators and provides great flight itineraries to choose from. I can always rely on his support from the planning to booking and to my return from a trip.

Douro

By: George


Reviewed on: 05 Jul 2019

A pleasure to book with Tom, He looks after details, and follows-up on requests and any problems with the trip.

Yes

By: Roadrunner


Reviewed on: 11 Jul 2019

He was excellent to deal with. Answered all E Mails or phone calls in a very timely fashion.

Trip planning review and initial recommendation

By: Joe


Reviewed on: 21 Jul 2019

Easy, professional. Have complete confidence in his recommendations and judgement re any trip I choose.

Repeat Customer

By: Bill - Repeat Customer


Reviewed on: 20 Jul 2019

Excellent to work with. Tom has planned multiple holidays for us including India, the Galapagos, & most recently Italy’s Amalfi Coast. His recommended locations & activities are almost always accepted and turn out to be terrific. The guides he has arranged for us become part of the family. On the fly adjustments are easy.

Exodus - Five Stans of the Silk Road

By: Tootsie


Reviewed on: 31 Jul 2019

Tom is a pleasure to work with; always available, patient, accommodating, knowledgeable, resourceful, and I've said before 'when you're traveling to the other side of the world on an adventure of a lifetime, it pays to work with the best and Tom has proven himself to excel at his job'.

Great help yoyo plan my trop

By: Annie


Reviewed on: 11 Aug 2019

Easy as always. Tom is very efficient and able to answer all questions.

Namibia

By: Namibia


Reviewed on: 30 Aug 2019

Very objective, understands his clients, not afraid to steer customers away from what he considers a bad idea. Strives to deliver an exceptional experience. Very attentive to detail.

Tom gets us

By: MEl


Reviewed on: 21 Aug 2019

Tom always suggests interesting and challenging trips, but not too challenging. And he advises us what not to do. He understands what we are looking for.

Travel advisor

By: Luv2trvl


Reviewed on: 30 Aug 2019

Professional, efficient, knowledgeable that is why my sister and I contact Tom when we are planning a trip. We know we are in very good hands because he himself has travelled to over 100 countries and counting!!

Brazil

By: Edith


Reviewed on: 05 Sep 2019

Excellent -from the beginning of our planning, Tom was extremely helpful and worked out a great flight itinerary to work all our requirements. During the trip, we needed to make a last minute adjustment and he again was able to work out the schedule at a minimal cost to us. All was done very quickly and great communication and updates provided. Thanks again for excellent service!

Ongoing Travel Support

By: Chris


Reviewed on: 17 Sep 2019

Tom at Adventure Coordinators certainly provided a wonderful service when changes had to be made on a recent tour and flights. Travel support continues after the initial booking and I can rely on Tom to look after my best interest with tour operators and airlines and provide good information to prepare for the trip.

Working with Tom for Years - He's the best!

By: TimeToGo


Reviewed on: 19 Sep 2019

Tom has planned several trips for my family over the years. He's great at working with our expectations and budget to come up with a fantastic vacation. His own direct experience on the different tours and trips is invaluable, as he can point out the pros and cons of each option to help us make better decisions. And with our busy schedules, it works best for us have all communication via email, and Tom is always very responsive to emails and clear in his written communications and documents, which is important! Would highly recommend working with Tom to plan any vacation experience.

Tom takes care of all the details

By: Downsy


Reviewed on: 01 Jan 2020

You can always encounter unexpected surprises when travelling; however, Tom always thinks ahead to prevent unnecessary problems.

Italy trip

By: Dodo


Reviewed on: 02 Nov 2019

Tom booked 3 consecutive trips for us to Italy this fall. He is very professional and has a lot of great ideas. He is always able to answer all our questions.

Croatia

By: Travel Memories


Reviewed on: 23 Oct 2019

We have worked with Tom twice in the past, and again, Tom did an awesome job getting our travel plans in place. He is very quick, getting back to us usually the same day, when we were in the planning stages. We had a bit of an issue when we were away, and I contacted Tom for assistance. He was out of the office, on a travel mission, but got back to me immediately, and had the issued resolved immediately. I would highly recommend Tom, and I have done many times.

Balkan tour

By: Zivjeli


Reviewed on: 28 Oct 2019

Tom was very helpful and efficient. He was astute in assessing our wants/requests and accommodating them. He was quick to respond to questions and offered interesting options for every aspect of the trip. We were very satisfied.

Greece / Turkey trip, Ponant cruise

By: Doug


Reviewed on: 13 Nov 2019

Excellent ! He kept us aware of each stage of the trip and answered any questions promptly.

Review of Tom Gehrels

By: AGW


Reviewed on: 21 Nov 2019

Tom was informative, helpful and supportive at every step from the planning and booking to the execution and follow up of our trip. I have already passed his contact information on to others with my positive recommendation of his services.

Air and insurance

By: Allan Rodger


Reviewed on: 17 Nov 2019

Excellent travel advice

Tom G

By: Mike


Reviewed on: 12 Dec 2019

Tom, is very knowledgeable and makes good suggestions on trips and trip options to consider. He is always prompt with his responses to queries. We have been using Tom for all our trips for nearly 15 years.

Tasmania Trip

By: Dragy


Reviewed on: 09 Jan 2020

I have been working with Tom for over 12 years and have booked several memorable, terrific vacations with him. He is knowledgeable, professional, well travelled and very helpful. I would recommend using Tom for your next vacation. You will not be disappointed.

Madeira and beyond

By: Albert


Reviewed on: 08 Feb 2020

As always high level of service

Don't know what Review means ...

By: Debbie


Reviewed on: 15 Feb 2020

Tom is a great reference for travel. Good attention to detail.

Trip to Colombia

By: Petey


Reviewed on: 18 Mar 2020

Very easy. He looked after all flights and connection as well as changes mid stream. Would certainly recommend him and use his service in the future

Excellent advice and recommendations through a difficult time.

By: Elaine


Reviewed on: 19 Mar 2020

Although the date for my trip has passed, I did not actually take it as it was with One Ocean Expeditions who are no longer running cruises. I was originally booked for February 2020 but had to change that booking to 2021 when two of the OOE ships were withdrawn from service. I am presently trying to get a refund on my credit card and/or through my cancellation insurance and waiting for OOE to declare bankruptcy so that my claims can be processed. This has been a difficult time, but Tom has always been available and has updated me regularly on new developments and options. His advice has been excellent and I would not hesitate in consulting him again. I am currently in the process of booking another Antarctica cruise with him through a different company. Having been to Antarctica 3 times he has been able to answer all my questions and to make recommendations.

Working with Tom Gehrels, you will have access to:

  • - Special perks and extra amenities
  • - An experienced travel guide whom you can rely on before, during, and after the trip
  • - Exclusive luxury resorts and properties
  • - Once in a lifetime experiences

Explore with the Best

Virtuoso Advisors are constantly pushing the boundaries in unique travel experiences.
Alliance programs are unique tailored experiences exclusive to travelers working with Virtuoso Travel Advisors.
learn more
  • Antarctica
  • Argentina
  • Botswana
  • China
  • Costa Rica
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • India
  • Italy
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Morocco
  • Peru
  • South Africa
  • Tanzania