Tracey Shara CTC

Camarillo, CA United States
An independent affiliate of Thunderbird Travel
 98%
Recommended
51
Reviews
 
Travel Specialties
Interests
  • Honeymoons
  • River Cruising
  • Hotels
  • Independent Tours
  • Ocean Cruising


Destinations
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Dominican Republic
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • View More...
Selling Travel Since
1987
Languages
  • English

My Background

I have been with Thunderbird Travel/ World Travel Bureau since 1999. I was born in Hollywood, and have lived in California my whole life. Having traveled to many parts of the world from a young age I acquired a true love of travel. My mother was a world traveler and it must have rubbed off on me. From a young age I longed to visit Tahiti. I almost became a flight attendant and I applied for a position at Club Med. Then I wound up at Travel Agent school after graduating college. I had the opportunity to spent a year living in Montpellier, France during college studying abroad.

For the past 25 years I have been a travel agent, manager, and now an affiliate of Thunderbird Travel. I have cruised to Mexico, the Caribbean, and Alaska. My favorite trips have been to Tahiti, Bali, Australia, Italy, France, Africa and the Seychelles. My hobbies include yoga, and cooking.

I have always had the passion to plan travel for myself and my clients. I enjoy shopping and pricing all of the components of a vacation. My specialties include private tours, honeymoons, independent travel, Virtuoso Hotels, and Virtuoso Voyages cruises. I am a Regent Luxury cruise expert.

Places I Have Traveled


Memberships 

Virtuoso Alliances
  • Priority Travel Specialist
  • Virtuoso Voyages Specialist

Reviews and Recommendations for Tracey Shara

98%

of 51
guests
recommend


Virtuoso Verified Traveler

All reviews are from confirmed guests sharing exclusive insights

Sort reviews by

Highly recommended

By: Patti B


Reviewed on: 23 Nov 2013

Tracey with Thunderbird Travel so effortlessly and efficiently handled our entire trip. Our questions were always answered promptly and she made us feel as though we were the only ones she was taking care of. Tracey was extremely helpful, honest, and so kind. She went above and beyond to ensure that every single detail was handled. We now feel as though she is our very own personal travel specialist and can not imagine planning a trip without her.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Extremely helpful,energetic,and knowledgeable

By: Michael


Reviewed on: 03 Dec 2013

Tracey has helped me plan Three trips in the past year. The first being to France with an extended stay in Paris. Tracey having lived there knew all the ins and outs of this city and was very helpful suggesting tours. She listens to your desires for your vacation and then makes suggestions,therefore,helping to tailor your trip to your personal likes.We also planned stays in Florida and Switzerland with Tracy.

Great trip

By: Glo


Reviewed on: 24 Nov 2013

Our trip was wonderful. All the details received attention and thus, there were no glitches or surprises. Tracey was easy to talk to and always responded to our questions promptly. We were 100% pleased with Tracey and have complete confidence in working with her for all of our future travel needs.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Highly recommended--very efficient and helpful

By: Not provided


Reviewed on: 24 Nov 2013

I would highly recommend Tracey. She always responds to my emails quickly and provides me with the requested information with great accuracy. I truly appreciate her help with my hotel bookings.

Outstanding service

By: Fred S. Jr.


Reviewed on: 09 Dec 2013

Tracy takes care of all our travel needs. It is very comforting to know that she triple checks everything for us, and all of her arrangements have gone off without a hitch. Quick to communicate and follow up with us and the vendors makes for a great travel experience. Recommended to all our friends and family, great personalized service.

Highly Recomend

By: PatD


Reviewed on: 23 Nov 2013

Tracey has helped my sister and me on several long, complicated trips. She has always been the best. I would not hesitate to recommend her enthusiastically. She is professional, accurate, and totally responsive.

Highly recommended

By: Roberta


Reviewed on: 23 Nov 2013

I have worked with Tracey for over a year on several trips. She has always been responsive, accommodating and knowledgable. Whenever we are able to get a virtuoso upgrade, it has been a wonderful plus. There are many details involved with traveling andTracy has taken care of them all. I travel quite a bit and have had a great working relationship with her. I would not hesitate to recommend her as a travel agent.

Excellent

By: DJEC51


Reviewed on: 24 Nov 2013

My wife and I have worked with Tracey on several trips and on each occasion she has been very helpful, conscientious, and professional in finding us the rooms and amenities that we wanted to help make our vacations memorable.

Terrific!

By: Brett P


Reviewed on: 25 Nov 2013

Tracey did a terrific job on our trip and got us way more than I expected. She kept us on track every step of the way and I will definately use her again, especially when going to the Four Seasons.

LOVED the entire trip!

By: Jen


Reviewed on: 04 Jan 2014

I called Tracey on the day of my birthday literally within hours of our last minute trip. My husband told me the in the morning he was taking me overnight wherever I wanted to go and once I decided, I called Tracey and was at the hotel by 3pm that day! She was able to secure us a great room, awesome amenities and it was an absolutely amazing birthday! Thanks so much!
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Alaska

By: Minnesota


Reviewed on: 05 Jun 2017

Great. She was helpful and kept me informed on all steps of the process
  Loading comments. Please wait...

highly

By: nick15


Reviewed on: 27 Jan 2014

Tracey is always so helpful , and works very hard to meet your expectations. She has planned 3 trips for us and they have all worked out great ! I always use her for our travel needs. Thanks Tracey!!
  Loading comments. Please wait...

What a Wonderful Holiday!

By: shedridt


Reviewed on: 27 Jan 2014

It's ridiculous to ask me to describe, free form, in a blank paragraph, a vacation that included immense diversity of lifestyle & this is exactly what we like about vacationing.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Highly Recommend

By: TravelBro


Reviewed on: 09 Feb 2014

I've worked with Tracy on a couple of trips and she has been very responsive and patient as I change my mind about aspects or our journey. I appreciate her hard work and diligence.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Highly Recommended

By: Roberta


Reviewed on: 10 Mar 2014

We have booked several trips with Tracey and she has come through magnificently with all of them. This past trip to Asia was very involved and Tracey covered every detail. When we had a problem with an excursion that she had booked, we emailed her in California from Vietnam, and even though there was a significant time difference, she was there for us- smoothing everything out. It is very important that I work with a travel agent who is accommodating, flexible and thorough and Tracey is that person.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Thank you Tracey!

By: kayakgma


Reviewed on: 17 Apr 2014

We loved our trip to Mo'orea and felt that Tracey did a great job of helping us plan and arrange it.  She asked questions and discussed options and together we came up with a great plan that fit our needs and expectations.  She was pleasant to work with, thorough, and had the knowledge of the area we needed.  We hope to have another opportunity to work with Tracey in planning a vacation.    
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Great!

By: ABS


Reviewed on: 15 Apr 2014

All was Perfect. Tracey is the Best!

Exceptional Service

By: Travel with a Smile


Reviewed on: 24 Apr 2014

Tracey has helped us with a number of trips around the world.  The hotels have been consistently excellent, and her service is outstanding.  My only regret is that I didn't discover her earlier!

Highly Recommended

By: Atherton Guy


Reviewed on: 24 Jul 2014

Tracey is the best.  Very focused and efficient.  She provides outstanding customer service.  Even better, she's a Gaucho!  I recommend her without hesitation.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Expert- friendly- efficient

By: RRoth


Reviewed on: 18 Aug 2014

Tracey always books our trips in an efficient manner. Although the Miramar in Barcelona wanted a lot of information, Tracey was ready to deal with the details. I live in NY and Tracey is in CA, but I really enjoy working with her.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

5 star hotel with 1 star carpet stain

By: tno


Reviewed on: 16 Sep 2014

Loved the hotel, though quite disappointed our check in was so detained due to the carpet cleaning they had to do on our room. Even so, there was still a large stain on the carpet in front of the sofa. The manaagement did give us a little discount since they were not able to move us to another room. The house car service was a wonderful touch!

Thorough and helpful.

By: Travelling T


Reviewed on: 12 Oct 2014

Tracy gave us some great options within the price points we were considering and scheduling all aspects of our trip. When Delta changed our itinerary, she work to provide us with the best flights available, essentially re booking our entire flight. Then with a last minute change, she was able to get a service cancelled without us incurring any charges. Also, the nice little gifts and upgrades we get with Virtuoso are always welcome.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Great!

By: creitmeyer


Reviewed on: 07 Dec 2014

Tracey does a perfect job... All the time... Its just the simple... Its because of her that my family has a great trip to Hawaii.... She knows her stuff, is very nice and works for YOU.... Would recommend her to anyone...
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Expert friendly service as always!

By: Roberta


Reviewed on: 02 Jan 2015

As always, Tracey booked our trip to Puerto Rico effortlessly. The Ritz Carlton expected us. We were promised a balcony and got it. My rewards number was already recorded. Easy check in. No snags as usual. Thanks as always for great service Tracey!
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Had a Great Trip

By: AndyJuli


Reviewed on: 25 Mar 2015

Overall the 7.5 day vacation to LA and San Diego was fantastic. We had great weather and the crowds were not bad at all. The big miss was the car rental. Will never rent or recommend anyone rent from Thrifty again. We rented a mid-sized SUV and upgraded to a "full-sized" when we got there. They didn't even have one ready and we had to wait while they got it. Then they gave us an Equinox which they claim is a full-sized SUV. On top of that, service was horrible at the rental and the Equinox had almost 60K miles on it. Fortunately the SUV had no issues and, even if it was a bit cramped as we travelled to 4 different hotels in a week, we made do. The hotels we stayed at were all good. Beverly Hilton was nice but a bit old. LEGOLAND Hotel was the highlight for the kids (they thought it was the best ever). Marriott Gas Lamp was a nice hotel if you want to be in the Gas Lamp Quarter. The Marriott Burbank is a good hotel and reasonably priced but not in the best of locations.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Everything was Excellent!

By: michelle


Reviewed on: 06 May 2015

Our hotel reservations in Rome and Amsterdam went perfectly. Tracey was prompt in helping me make the reservations. We had a fantastic time. She is great!
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Great Timing

By: Gina


Reviewed on: 13 Jun 2015

Tracey recently booked a trip for me to stay at the Biltmore in Asheville, NC. I basically explained what I wanted to do and she prescheduled everything....it was perfect timing. She also let them know it was a birthday celebration.... It's the little things. The trip excellent.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Perfect from beginning to end

By: Nana G


Reviewed on: 13 Jun 2015

Our trip to Wailea was perfect from beginning to end. Everything went smoothly on this trip as it did on our previous trips. No glitches and 100% attention to details makes for a wonderful vacation.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Great Service

By: Yovanna B.


Reviewed on: 20 Jul 2015

Thanks for the wonderful Service all the time,definitely I reconended your service,...Best regards Yovanna B.

great Virtuoso perks!

By: tno


Reviewed on: 14 Aug 2015

We recently stayed at St. Regis Deer Valley for the weekend Music Festival, and Tracey helped us booked to get the wonderful Virtuoso amenities. We were upgraded from their standard room to a 1 bedroom suite, AND we had up to $80 per day for breakfast credit for 2, AND $100 spa credit! What a great value! thank you!
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Canyon Ranch

By: angie


Reviewed on: 29 Sep 2015

Had a wonderful stay at the Canyon Ranch in Lennox, Mass. Tracey secured a wonderful room for us and handled all our early arrival arrangements. It was a great stay!
  Loading comments. Please wait...

She makes it happen

By: SP772


Reviewed on: 05 Nov 2015

My wife and I have been helped by Tracey for travel in this country and overseas. She is always professional, knowledgable, friendly, quick to reply to questions, and makes sure that we have the location, room, and amenities that help to make each vacation special. We can't imagine using any other travel advisor for our future trips.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Great Trip!

By: Pat & Bob


Reviewed on: 17 Nov 2015

The best ship ever. We were devoted Crystal fans but Seaborne was better!

Expert Service

By: Julie77


Reviewed on: 26 Nov 2015

Tracey was helpful, knowledgeable, friendly and throughly prepared all details of our trip. This was the second trip we planned out of the United States, using her travel skills. She is a wonderful person to work with and we highly would recommend using her for all travel needs in the future. Tracey is a professional and pays close attention to all details of planning a successful vacation.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

3 island Hawaii getaway

By: Chad


Reviewed on: 06 Dec 2015

Awesome trip. Tracey did an excellent job of planning our trip so that we got the most out of our time. Went for 12 days and visited 3 islands in Hawaii. Her expertise in arranging interisland flights was great. We were able to utilize the most of our time on the days when we were traveling between islands and we were able to take advantage of Virtuoso's extended check outs on these days, without ever missing a single sunset! Hotel suggestions were great and her work and comments to the hotel ahead of time helped to insure rooms with unbelievable views... Great trip... Great Job Tracey! It wouldn't have happened without you!!!!!!
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Great cruise around Dougn America

By: Jerry R


Reviewed on: 04 Mar 2016

Tracey, as always, planned a great trip . As usual everything went smoothly. There was one glitch with our Argentinian Visa but Tracy was quickly available and able to resolve the problem that we had. We would never use any other travel agent except Tracey. She's the best !!
  Loading comments. Please wait...

I always count on Tracey!

By: AMN1223


Reviewed on: 17 Mar 2016

Tracey is always available for me - no matter what time it is. She quickly books quickly and makes sure I have a great vacation - with a free upgrade at check-in! I strongly recommend using Tracey for your travel needs =0)
  Loading comments. Please wait...
Not Recommended

OLD CRYSTAL SERENITY

By: KATE


Reviewed on: 18 May 2016

OUR FIRST PROBLEM WAS THE ADDRESS OF THE SHIP IN SAN FRANCISCO...IT WAS THE WRONG PORT ADDRESS....OUR ROOM WAS VERY SMALL AND ALTHOUGH WE DID HAVE TWIN BEDS IT WAS SO SMALL THE BEDS WERE TOUCHING...IF WE WOULD HAVE MOVED THEM EVEN A FEW INCHES WE WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO USE THE CLOSET WITHOUT SITTING ON THE BED. THEY HAD TO BRING IN THE CUSHIONS ON THE VERANDA DUE TO WIND SO WE COULDN'T SIT ON THE COUCH...NO WAY COULD WE HAVE HAD ROOM SERVICE. THE BLACK TIE OPTIONAL WAS CASUAL - NO BLACK TIE ON THE AGENDA....THESE PROBLEMS WERE HELD BY A NUMBER OF OTHER TRAVELERS. THE FOOD WAS GOOD BUT COULDN'T GET RESERVATIONS FOR THE 2 SPECIALTY RESTAURANTS... THE ENTERTAINMENT WAS GOOD - MOVIES WERE OLD - I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE CRYSTAL SERENITY ... KATE

Great

By: Bob and Pat


Reviewed on: 05 Aug 2016

One of the best cruises we've taken. We were reluctant to sail on such a large ship but were pleasantly surprised. We enjoyed the amenities that came with the suite. Great service. Lots of dancing.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Nice Condo Maui

By: Orca65


Reviewed on: 04 Nov 2016

Our three bedroom condo at Honua Kai resort in Lahaina, Maui was as advertised. It was clean and well furnished. The only down side was they did not heat the pools and two of the four spas were closed. Our family had a good time and the food at Duke's was good. The beach was nice even though narrow. Would recommend for families.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Wonderful

By: Chad


Reviewed on: 03 Dec 2016

Tracey was awesome. Just awesome. You cant go wrong.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Great service

By: Bob s


Reviewed on: 05 Dec 2016

Our trip was great. The Miramar fairmount was the perfect place to stay. The location was ideal, the service was outstanding and the food at the fig was delicious. Our flights were smooth and without any delays or problems. We will definitely go back. Thanks tracey. You never disappoint us and always provide great options Bob Sinnott
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Favorite agent

By: James singh


Reviewed on: 25 Feb 2017

Quick responses to inquiry and requests. Professional and a pleasure
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Las vegas aria

By: ann


Reviewed on: 18 Apr 2017

Tracy was extremely easy to work with and very proactive. She was able to get us a very good rate with lots of extras like free breakfast and spa credit.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Amanyara

By: Mike


Reviewed on: 08 May 2017

Always a pleasure. She takes the time and has the insight to narrow down her search for your interests. We are in constant communication prior to travel and I am confident she covered all the bases.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Highly recommend Tracey

By: Michaela


Reviewed on: 22 Jun 2017

We have booked many trips with Tracey, both domestic and international. She always handles our air, and as a Virtuoso agent, she also takes care of our cruises. She works in tandem with our luxury travel agent in NYC ( who handles our foreign land tours) to coordinate our hotel arrangements through Virtuoso in order to receive the best rooms and the Virtuoso amenities. Sometimes our trips can get quite complicated. And we can be very particular about what we want and don't want. Tracey is tenacious in working to find us exactly what we want and at the best rate possible. Tracey responds quickly and is highly detail-oriented. And she is very patient and easy to talk to. We highly recommend Tracey Shara!
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Turkey trip

By: Steve


Reviewed on: 17 Jul 2017

Very helpful and responsive. Wanted to make my trip as pleasant as possible and always responded quickly to my input
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Always on it!

By: Deborah


Reviewed on: 15 Sep 2017

Tracey has organized quite a few trips for us around the world, most of which were somewhat complicated with lots of moving pieces. She continually combs through the arrangements to make sure there are no holes and that the best possible flights and ground arrangements are secured. She is extremely responsive and gets back to me with answers/suggestions quickly. Tracey's personality is very calm and assured which makes her a pleasure to deal with. I broke my hand in Spain this year only 5 days into our vacation and we needed to end the trip. We called her and she got us squared away to come home very quickly, and in the height of the summer travel season when most good flights were already booked. Tracey handles our air but also any ground arrangements we may need. Right now she is arranging private touring for our group of 4 in Bangkok, when our cruise docks. Tracey is a really nice lady and I highly recommend using her as your agent!
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Tracey is amazing as usual.

By: Roberta


Reviewed on: 04 Oct 2017

Always wonderful . She is very easy and flexible to work with. There is never a problem with any reservation. The trip is always seamless. Never a problem in her end.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

rocky mountaineer

By: Bill


Reviewed on: 08 Oct 2017

She is very professional and thourough. She is a good listener.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Fall Colors cruise

By: ken


Reviewed on: 25 Oct 2017

Easy. If she didn't know the answer to a question she always came up with an answer in a short period of time

Working with Tracey Shara, you will have access to:

  • - Special perks and extra amenities
  • - An experienced travel guide whom you can rely on before, during, and after the trip
  • - Exclusive luxury resorts and properties
  • - Once in a lifetime experiences

Explore with the Best

Virtuoso Advisors are constantly pushing the boundaries in unique travel experiences.
Alliance programs are unique tailored experiences exclusive to travelers working with Virtuoso Travel Advisors.
learn more
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Dominican Republic
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • Indonesia
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • South Africa
  • Seychelles
  • Switzerland
  • Puerto Rico
  • Mexico
  • United States Minor Outlying Islands