Michelle Cowell 

Pacific Palisades, CA United States
Cowell Travel, an independent affiliate of Brownell Travel
 100%
Recommended
49
Reviews
 
Travel Specialties
Interests
  • Adventure
  • Beach & Sun
  • Family Travel
  • Sports & Outdoors
  • Independent Tours


Destinations
  • Peru
  • South Africa
  • New Zealand
  • Turks And Caicos Islands
  • Costa Rica
  • View More...
Selling Travel Since
2015
Languages
  • English

My Background

After growing up in San Diego near the border of Mexico, I gained an appreciation and awareness of different cultures at an early age and yearned to see more of the world. Road trips in California, shopping in markets in Morocco, and adventures through Southeast Asia confirmed that travel truly enhances your life. My family—including the dog—moved to New Zealand for two years and have traveled around the world together. I am a lifelong student and have studied and taught yoga since I was 16.

My attention to detail, resourcefulness, and desire to help others translates into planning custom trips for travelers. I listen carefully to my clients’ needs and wants so that I can create a trip that they will enjoy and reminisce about for years to come. I believe that the more one sees and experiences, the more one’s life is enriched. Travel opens the eyes, hearts, and minds of people, and I hope to create amazing trips for my clients. Why do you travel? Let me help you answer that question.

Places I Have Traveled


Reviews and Recommendations for Michelle Cowell

100%

of 49
guests
recommend


Virtuoso Verified Traveler

All reviews are from confirmed guests sharing exclusive insights

Sort reviews by

Hard working, friendly, knowledgable and diligent

By: RABASB


Reviewed on: 13 Apr 2016

Michelle is hard working, knowledgeable, diligent, always available and very personable. We had the distinct impression that she cared as much about our trip as we did. She spent untold hours researching options and activities, talking to local providers and organizing schedules. Our trip was quite complex with six people, intercontinental flights, two countries, three locations, two arrival dates and three separate departure dates. Michelle organized everything quite well and presented everything to us in a professional manner. One of the key flights was cancelled at the last minute causing a missed connection for one of our travelers. Michelle and her team quickly altered the arrangements and minimized the interruption to the trip. We had a truly wonderful trip and can't wait to book another big one through Michelle.

Outstanding travel planning

By: Anne


Reviewed on: 05 Sep 2016

I highly recommend Michelle to do your travel planning. Michelle planned a fun, adventurous travel package for us in Costa Rica. The trip was flawless. She recommended wonderful hotels which were exactly what we wanted, from level to activities to food, and had many activities from which we were able to choose. Her network of resources was also a great asset, as anything she did not have an answer to, she was quickly able to find within her network. I will most definitely be using Michelle for my next trip!

Really a good advisor!

By: asd


Reviewed on: 04 Dec 2016

We met Michelle through our daughter. She is working on a trip for Christmas for our entire family. I just happened to mention that if she could find us a room at the Casa de Sierra Nevada in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico, we would go for Thanksgiving. Only minutes passed when we received a call from Michelle with a room for Thanksgiving. She was very thorough and gave good advice. She is now our travel advisor! asd

Comprehensive Service and Advice

By: JSIMS


Reviewed on: 09 Jan 2017

This was our second trip that Michelle planned for us : 18 days in Patagonia! Every detail of the trip was well thought through from timing of transfers to precise clothing requirements. There was even a cake presented to our son on his birthday. When the airlines fouled up the outbound connection, I was required to do very little to adjust the trip (we arrived 3 days late). It was all handled behind the scenes by Michelle.

Grand Cayman

By: CHRISTIAN


Reviewed on: 27 Mar 2017

Michelle is always "on top" of things and works hard to make sure we have a fun vacation.

Baja California and the Sea of Cortez: Among the Great Whales

By: Barbara


Reviewed on: 28 Apr 2017

Michelle was amazing to work with. She was a great resource of information about the Lindblad company, answered all of my questions, thought of things that never occurred to me to ask, related to me her experience of traveling in the same area, set up an online app that made the travel almost effortless - the list of what she did as my travel agent could go on and on. Michelle made a fantastic and life changing trip/experience that much more enjoyable. I look forward to having Michelle book my next Lindblad adventure.

Michelle is a gem!

By: Charman


Reviewed on: 20 Apr 2017

Michelle is efficient, knowledgeable and listens to your needs. She went above and beyond to make sure we were making the right choice for our family with regards to location. We went to a pretty small and remote resort in Costa Rica and we have an only child. I was worried she'd be the only kid there! Michelle called the hotel to make sure there would be other children staying at the same time before we made a final decision. Turns out there were nine kids under the age of ten scheduled to be there. We loved the resort and our 9 year old daughter had a blast and met new friends. I've already recommended Cowell Travel to many people and will definitely utilize Michelle for all my travel needs.

costa rica

By: kim


Reviewed on: 02 May 2017

Michelle was great offering a variety of lodging options and really listened to what our family needs were. She was responsive and quick to put together our trip.

NYC Trip

By: buzz


Reviewed on: 08 Jun 2017

She always anticipates every need

Best Trip Ever!

By: Kathy


Reviewed on: 25 Jun 2017

My husband and I are not ones who regularly utilizes a travel agent. I decided that I would with this trip with my daughter since I was planning it on my own. I will never travel again with Michelle's help. It was so seamless. It was so hassle free and perfect. Her suggestions for both hotels/cities and add on's were spot on and made this mother/daughter adventure absolutely perfect!!

It's Not What You Know . . .

By: Reluctant Sojourner


Reviewed on: 23 Jul 2017

It's who you know. Pardon the cliche, but in my situation it couldn't be more on the money. In all seriousness, I entered the process of planning my trip to Thailand with all encompassing ignorance and crippling trepidation. (I'm a serious homebody) I was overwhelmed by the logistics of such a trip, to the point that I seriously considered scrapping it outright. Enter Michelle, who was recommended to me by a mutual friend. In the course of one phone call she moved me from anxious to excited. Michelle is everything you want in an advisor of any kind: patient, funny, responsive, knowledgable and sympathetic. Within days of that first call she formulated an itinerary for a 3 week trip that drew rave reviews from my son and old friend, both of whom live in Thailand. Justifiably so, it truly was the trip of a lifetime. I will wholeheartedly recommend Michelle to anyone I know who is planning a trip that has any "moving parts".

Above and Beyond

By: Ginny


Reviewed on: 01 Oct 2017

Working with Michelle is amazing! She takes care of details you didn't even realize needed taking care of . She made arrangements for a number of our family in hotels all over town and was in touch with each hotel and on top of everyones comings and goings over our daughters wedding weekend. She made a personal visit to the bride and groom's hotel to make sure they had everything they needed. She arranged for theater tickets as well. Everyone is so impressed with her service, they are planning on booking with her again!

Bowery Hotel

By: Shea


Reviewed on: 01 Oct 2017

Michelle went above and beyond; she made sure we had the best suite in the Bowery Hotel and notified them of our super early arrival. We were able to get right into bed after a red eye flight which made our trip so much more fruitful. She let the staff know of our wedding which we were in town for and they sent up a wonderful welcome gift, and Michelle herself delivered our favorite snacks on occasion of the event. ABOVE AND BEYOND! Everything was seamless and easy and I cannot thank Michelle enough for her communication and thoroughness.

New York visit

By: Sonja


Reviewed on: 02 Oct 2017

She was like a best friend taking care of me! We were booked at an incredible hotel that we loved. She arranged a special welcome for us upon arriving. She has a special flair for detail and wanted to be sure we were comfortable.

Paradise

By: Ginny


Reviewed on: 08 Nov 2017

Michelle is amazing. She listens to exactly what you want and goes out of her way to find accommodations that fit the bill. She does copious research to make sure you have all the options and makes arrangements down to the last detail. As soon as you land, you know exactly what to expect and any special requests are taken care of ahead of time.

Beautiful Stay in Meadowood arranged by Michelle

By: Ivana


Reviewed on: 13 Nov 2017

It was so nice to work with Michelle! While I was traveling, with limited time to organise my stay in California, she was on the top of everything, arranging one of the best trips in Napa with all personal touches during our stay. She recommended us best wineries and suggested us what to do and see. Would happily recommend Michelle to anybody who would travel to Napa and Sonoma and what to experience best of the best! Thank you !

California trip

By: Christian


Reviewed on: 10 Dec 2017

Great, she is always so responsive and caring about our trips. Michelle always takes the time to find out what we are looking for and does her best to match that up with hotels, flights, and tours or things to do.

New York Trip

By: Reade


Reviewed on: 16 Dec 2017

Michelle helped us tremendously in our first trip to New York. Everything was planned out and reservations for food were spot on. She always was there to help with any questions and had great suggestions. Would absolutely use her again.

Michelle was lovely

By: Cali Traveler


Reviewed on: 06 Jan 2018

Michelle was lovely. So helpful and upbeat, and very attentive to our needs at each place we stayed on our trip. We had to make some last minute changes due to the wildfires in Southern California and she was indispensable and unflappable in her approach to re-arranging our trip. I would absolutely work with her again - she is delightful.

Great person to work with!

By: Sbm


Reviewed on: 10 Feb 2018

Super easy and efficient! She was very professional and very responsive to all of my requests and questions!

Great suggestions!

By: Charman


Reviewed on: 15 Apr 2018

Michelle is knowledgeable and if she doesn't know something, she finds out. She made great suggestions for our family and made sure our trip to multiple destinations went well.

Uncruise trip to Alaska

By: Jo


Reviewed on: 15 May 2018

Michelle is so nice and full of great information! We have used her for several trips it's always been good and exactly what she explained beforehand.

excellent experience

By: JT


Reviewed on: 14 May 2018

Michelle is fantastic! She made sure everything was taken care of, was great to work with, and ensured that we had a wonderful time! She was very patient with me, as I can be hard to get a hold of with my schedule, and she was exhibited flexibility working with me. She really looks out for her clients. I highly recommend her and will be using her services again in the future!

Ladies in Barcelona

By: Tigger


Reviewed on: 20 Jun 2018

It was wonderful working with Michelle. There were 7 women traveling and it was like herding cats. Michelle handled the changes, concerns and a flood of emails beautifully

Michelle

By: Sonja


Reviewed on: 18 Jun 2018

Michelle was great to work with. She was very organized and helped make sure everyone was well taken care of. I will recommend her to friends.

Another stellar family vacation

By: John and Suzanne


Reviewed on: 21 Jun 2018

This is our third trip coordinated through Michelle (Hawaii, Patagonia were first two). We have already scheduled Santa Fe, New Zealand, and Italy. Need we say more?

Use Michelle!

By: Canada


Reviewed on: 06 Aug 2018

Michelle is fantastic to work with. Michelle is professional, prompt, and well organized. Based on these qualities alone I would recommend Michelle; however, what really makes her special is her enthusiasm to create a truly customized, memorable vacation for her clients. Our Canadian honeymoon was unbelievable and we plan on using Michelle as our travel advisor again!

Highly recommend!

By: Apdx


Reviewed on: 14 Jul 2018

Michelle is awesome – I found her kind of by accident – ( via Google search). I was planning kind of a last minute trip – she was super helpful, very easy to work with and paid great attention to detail. She followed up with me a few times – checking in to see if we needed anything else for our trip etc. I found her by a “happy accident” but will definitely use her in the future and I highly recommend that you do as well !

Scotland and Switzerland

By: Jojo


Reviewed on: 19 Oct 2018

Michelle is very professional and nice and very easy to work with. Everything was smooth and seamless. I recommend her to my friends and everyone that has used her as as a travel consultant has been happy.

Nyc

By: Linda


Reviewed on: 28 Oct 2018

Easy and efficient

Easy

By: Simmons


Reviewed on: 29 Oct 2018

5th trip Michelle has planned. Another flawless execution. So easy.

Uncruise

By: Jojo


Reviewed on: 23 Nov 2018

Fabulous she’s easy to work with and very organized. We would work with her again.

Cowell Travel review

By: JFC


Reviewed on: 20 Nov 2018

Really good. Michelle was always extremely prompt to reply and was seemingly unlimited in her resourcefulness. She listened carefully and always made sure that the trip embraced all of our concerns and desires. Her ability to anticipate our needs and always stay within budget made things even easier. We'd absolutely work with her again, in fact we can't wait to plan our next trip of a lifetime with her!

Fabulous to work with

By: Olivia


Reviewed on: 07 Dec 2018

Michelle is fabulous and sincere. She is easy to work with and very organized. She tried her very best to find the tours that will fit into our “picky” requirement which I wholeheartedly thank her for being so very patiently with us 😊 She also put our itinerary into an app which we downloaded to our phone. Frankly, this is the best thing that ever happen. We don’t have to bring piles of hotel confirmations with us anymore. Highly recommended!

trip to Santa Monica

By: Phyllis


Reviewed on: 12 Dec 2018

She does the most thorough job. She researches the different hotels and presents this choices - which I like. When I got to my hotel - I had a room upgrade and all of my special requests (which are many) fulfilled. And a nice note and a bottle of wine awaited as well. She made all of our restaurant reservations - all wonderful. I could not have been more pleased

Michelle gets it right!

By: Charman


Reviewed on: 21 Jul 2019

Michelle's own experience traveling all over the world is helpful. By having done so, she understands her clients wants and needs. I love talking with her about different locales and getting her opinion on places I've never been. Even if she'd never travelled to a location, she finds a person in her large network who she trusts to call for more information for the client. I love that.

Paris in 72 hours

By: Simmons


Reviewed on: 02 Aug 2019

We only had 3 days in Paris. Michelle put us in the perfect boutique hotel in a charming (and quiet) part of the city.

Madeira Honeymoon

By: Alex


Reviewed on: 08 Aug 2019

I've worked with Michelle several times and she is always incredibly responsive and helpful. We had a beautiful honeymoon in Madeira - the hotel was so perfect and we loved the island. Michelle always makes sure we have everything loaded in the app so our trip is as seamless as possible. I would recommend her and the Belmond Reid's Palace to anyone!

Honeymoon to The Netherlands, South Africa & Mozambique

By: Hillary


Reviewed on: 10 Jan 2019

Michelle lead my husband and I on the honeymoon of our dreams. My husband has never been out of the country so he was leaving his comfort zone and she made sure we felt safe and taken care of everywhere we went. We greeted at every airport and hotel we stayed at. Warm and friendly welcomes, one hotel had balloons, champagne and a photo Michelle must have sent of our wedding. We felt like royalty the entire time. We knew traveling to three places would be a bit difficult to maneuver through and it was so incredibly easy because Michelle and her team made it so. We had candlelight dinners by the ocean, in the Kruger National Park bush, under the city lights of Amsterdam’s canals.. we truly did it all. The planning part was such a breeze and Michelle completely took care of it. I would recommend Michelle over and over again to strangers, friends, family and we are already talking about our next trip that she can plan for us! It was so incredible. The trip of a lifetime. Thank you Michelle

Golf Trip to Palm Springs

By: Olivia


Reviewed on: 31 Dec 2018

Friendly and efficient. Second trip in two months.

Full service travel advisor!

By: Alex


Reviewed on: 11 Jan 2019

Michelle was wonderful to work with! She helped me plan a trip to Thailand and was extremely responsive, detail-oriented, and in tune with what we wanted. The transportation and guide services were seamless and took the pressure off me in terms of managing logistics. I’d recommend anyone work with her!

Amazing Trip to Palm Beach

By: Alice


Reviewed on: 26 Jan 2019

Michelle is the best! She plans all our family trips. Highly recommend her.

New Zealand Family Adventure

By: John and Suzanne


Reviewed on: 09 Feb 2019

Outstanding, as usual. Michelle understands our family's like's/dislikes before the planning process begins. We are able to quickly zero in on the agenda.

Relaxation in Beverly Hills

By: Simmons


Reviewed on: 07 Apr 2019

Awesome, as usual. She knows our family presences and puts us in the perfect places.

San Antonio

By: Buzz


Reviewed on: 10 Apr 2019

Michelle always tends to the finest details. We always like working with her. Our trip was perfect! Thank you

Perfection!

By: C


Reviewed on: 15 May 2019

Michelle is organized, listens and has great resources. Our family will use her again and again!

The Dewberry Hotel

By: cls


Reviewed on: 22 May 2019

It was a great experience. Knowledgable and efficient. All went unbelievably well and with such ease. The stay was excellent and added greater enjoyment to my trip.

Honeymoon in Playacar

By: RME


Reviewed on: 30 Jun 2019

It was a pleasure letting Michelle take care of the research and planning for our honeymoon in Cancun/Playacar. While we were busy with the details of our wedding, Michelle found the perfect beach resort for us, and, at a great price. Michelle has the experience, knowledge and personal contacts to help you put together a vacation that is just right for you. She asks all the right questions and works hard to personalize the experience. We stayed at the Royal Hideaway Playacar - an adult-only, all-inclusive resort that was beautiful, high quality, personalized and romantic. We hope to go back every year! Thank you Michelle, outstanding work!

Jojos review

By: Jojo


Reviewed on: 24 Jun 2019

Michelle is so nice and easy to work with at the same time very professional. She made the trip easy and fun. She got us guides in Kyoto and in Tokyo that was perfect and very smooth. The whole trip went exactly as planned!

Working with Michelle Cowell, you will have access to:

  • - Special perks and extra amenities
  • - An experienced travel guide whom you can rely on before, during, and after the trip
  • - Exclusive luxury resorts and properties
  • - Once in a lifetime experiences

Explore with the Best

Virtuoso Advisors are constantly pushing the boundaries in unique travel experiences.
Alliance programs are unique tailored experiences exclusive to travelers working with Virtuoso Travel Advisors.
learn more
  • Peru
  • South Africa
  • New Zealand
  • Turks And Caicos Islands
  • Costa Rica
  • Denmark
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • India
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Nepal
  • United States - All
  • Australia
  • Mexico