Kristen Meckem DS

Bend, OR United States
Kristen Meckem Travel, an independent affiliate of Brownell Travel
 100%
Recommended
28
Reviews
 
Travel Specialties
Interests
  • Family Travel
  • Honeymoons
  • River Cruising
  • Safari
  • Beach & Sun


Destinations
Selling Travel Since
2015
Languages
  • English

My Background

After driving through South America and Europe in a VW camper as a child, travel was in my blood. Since then, I have taken cooking classes in Rome, yachted the Panama Canal, and consulted the Oracle at Delphi. It was only natural for me to turn my passion into my profession.

I graduated from Northwestern University with a concentration in the Medill School of Journalism. I spent the next 20 years raising my children, working in PR, and running a boutique design business. In 2006, my husband and I pulled our children out of school, took off for a year, and drove through 22 countries in Europe. Sharing my love of the world with my children is one of my favorite travel experiences, and I love to help other families create special memories through travel.

I work side-by-side with my clients, creating custom itineraries and VIP-ing them prior to their arrival. Let me help you see the world in a new way. Life is meant to be lived well.

Places I Have Traveled


Reviews and Recommendations for Kristen Meckem

100%

of 28
guests
recommend


Virtuoso Verified Traveler

All reviews are from confirmed guests sharing exclusive insights

Sort reviews by

5 Star Service and Experience!

By: Odette A.


Reviewed on: 10 May 2016

We cannot thank you enough for planning our family trip to Maui! All of our expectations were blown away, from the upgrades at the hotel, to the special notes and baskets you provided! We all felt it was the best vacation we have ever had! Your follow-up and attention to detail were unmatched! Truly an exceptional experience with an exception Travel Advisor.

Best Vacation Ever!!!

By: Marie G


Reviewed on: 13 Apr 2016

Very thankful that we put our family vacation in Kristen's hands. Every question or concern was answered quickly with specific detail. No Stress at all!! Just an amazing resort could have not asked for a better Spring Break with our teenage daughters.

So well cared for on our "Trip of a Lifetime"!

By: MDM24


Reviewed on: 19 May 2016

Our fabulous "Trip of a Lifetime" started with Kristen's well thought out planning of our 3 days in Paris. We did the right things for our time there. Loved our darling hotel and restaurants. Next our stay in charming Brugges was fabulous starting with the effusive welcome given by staff at the Chateaux & Relais hotel. They suggested the perfect restaurant and helped with our visit there. Onto Amsterdam and another wonderful hotel booked by Kristen. Canal view, boutique hotel, we were in heaven! Then into our amazing 10 day river barge cruise down the Rhine on a Viking boat. Wow. Having Kristen taking care of all of that planning was a boon. Everything about the cruise was 5 star. We were so well taken care of we felt spoiled! This was a "trip of a lifetime", but hopefully the first of many more. Huge thanks to Kristen for making this happen so seamlessly. Her professionalism, knowledge and follow through are 5 star +.

Expert Trip Planning

By: DMW64


Reviewed on: 26 Aug 2016

Kristen did a fantastic job of vetting our resort property in Roatan, Honduras and was quite helpful in helping us to identify the activities we wanted to pursue. I was very impressed with her attention to all of our need and would highly recommend using her services.

China Business Trip

By: GeoffS


Reviewed on: 07 Oct 2016

Kristen, Fabulous job as always! Hotels, transportation, and interpreter were fantastic!!!! Thanks so much for putting this trip together for me.

Excellent all around!

By: ktv


Reviewed on: 06 Jan 2017

Kristen was fantastic from start to finish. Never having used a travel advisor before, we were not sure what to expect. We had definite ideas about what we did and didn't want to do. She listened carefully and asked us even more questions. She was very conscientious about our kids and wanted to know exactly what they did/didn't like. She was thorough and efficient! She even sent Christmas gifts to our hotel in Sydney on Christmas Eve! It was very thoughtful. I highly recommend her!

Kristen is terrific!

By: maura


Reviewed on: 24 Jan 2017

Kristen is always looking for ways to make your trip special and personal. She responds quickly to requests both during the travel booking stage and if we've needed any help while we were travelling. She is excellent to work with!

Amazing wine trip

By: Jennyhcox


Reviewed on: 11 Feb 2017

We had an amazing wine trip the the Allison Inn and Spa. 7 girls and loads of fun. We would use Kristen Meckem again in a heartbeat. Thank you for the red carpet amazing time!

Shopping/Wine tastings get away

By: Jim


Reviewed on: 19 Mar 2017

Phenomenal!! Kristen knows the Oregon Pinot Wine Country well and organized a wonderful get away. She goes above and beyond to make sure her clients vacations are suited for them.

Effortless, perfect travel with Kristen

By: MM


Reviewed on: 23 Apr 2017

Working with Kristen Meckem is easy, breezy and perfect! Kristen intuitively knows what we want. I think that this comes from her innate sense of style, her intelligence, her own travel experience (vast), her professionalism, her follow through, her contacts, and her joi de vie! So wonderful to have her plan a trip. Her enthusiasm is contagious as she sets the wheels in motion for yet another adventure in ny life. Can't wait for my next Kristen trip! So happy to have her as my "Travel Team Leader"! Thanks Kristen!

Amazing!!

By: Jennyhcox


Reviewed on: 10 Jul 2017

Kristen planned the trip of a lifetime for us! Everything was incredible!

Russia!

By: Betsy


Reviewed on: 07 Aug 2017

Amazing! She is a delight and pays attention to every detail. She is incredibly prompt responding to all emails which is fun because part of the fun is the excitement leading up to a trip. She is knowledgeable and thorough and will exhaust all options to make your trip unforgettable. I feel like I have the most detailed caring travel agent ever!

Incredible last minute trip!!

By: Jenny


Reviewed on: 19 Sep 2017

Kristen is absolutely amazing. My husband and I feel so lucky to have found her. We planned a very last minute trip to punta de mita and Kristen arranged everything! We had the most fantastic time!

Santa Monica Viceroy

By: susan hall


Reviewed on: 08 Oct 2017

Excellent! Very helpful

The best!

By: No I C


Reviewed on: 04 Nov 2017

Fabulous! The best!

The Best

By: Jeka


Reviewed on: 08 Nov 2017

Perfection. Responds immediately to your calls, texts, and emails. Answers and explains all your questions with utmost patience. Extremely professional, knowledgeable, and well traveled. If you consult Kristen, you will never travel again without using her services.

Kristen

By: Mary jo


Reviewed on: 17 Nov 2017

Amazing and organized She made the trip wonderful and soecial

A+

By: MDM


Reviewed on: 27 Nov 2017

What a perfect trip Kristen planned for us! From transportation to tours to hotels. It all went smoothly and was fabulous. Her attention to detail and follow through certainly showed. I feel like I pushed not just the EASY button, but the HAPPY button as well!

Maui Thanksgiving Vacation

By: Molly Brundage


Reviewed on: 11 Dec 2017

Excellent from the first phone call we made. Easy, smooth, professional, honest and overly accommodating!

Galapagos cruise

By: T


Reviewed on: 18 Mar 2018

Kristen was great - responsive to questions, proactive with ideas. Crystal clear communications. Great follow-up.

best agent ever!

By: Betsy


Reviewed on: 09 Mar 2018

Kristen is the best travel planner ever! She pays attention to the smallest detail. When we arrived at the lodge, there were balloons, gifts, and a cake for my daughter's birthday. She is helpful in every way possible!

Loved working with Kirsten!

By: Nicole


Reviewed on: 11 Apr 2018

Wonderful. The best! So organized and accommodating.

Fabulous Service

By: Jill K.


Reviewed on: 02 Jun 2018

Kristen provided top notch service and accommodations. She went the extra mile to have extras for us at every step of the way. Working with Kristen is easy and she handles all the details making it easy for us.

Lovely grand hotel we would have never found on our own!

By: juliecrispin@yahoo.com


Reviewed on: 11 Jul 2018

Kristen has exquisite taste and a wonderful understanding of how to pair hotels, restaurants, and experiences with her clients, based on extensive advance conversations, and an innate feel about what will best suit their needs. Thank you for the lovely, off-the-beaten path suggestion that became a highlight of our European vacation, Kristen!

Travel

By: D.H.


Reviewed on: 08 Jul 2018

Awesome experience!! Kristen Meckem is a fabulous person to work with. Very organized and professional. Easy to communicate with and very responsive. Would highly recommend her and plan to use her for future travel.

best trip ever

By: Betsy


Reviewed on: 30 Jul 2018

Working with Kristen is so fun! and easy! She is patient and receptive to questions, emails, feedback. She plans a seamless trip tailored for what you need. Somehow she manages to plan a trip my daughters, my husband, and myself all find perfect!

Love Kristen Meckem!

By: Maura


Reviewed on: 12 Aug 2018

Kristen puts a personal touch on everything she organizes and books. She has high standards and makes sure our stay is easy and memorable with great amenities. We look forward to planning future trips with her. Thanks Kristen!

Another slam dunk trip!

By: MDM


Reviewed on: 13 Nov 2018

Easy and fun. Always well cared for. Kristen is like having a mom or a personal assistant!

Working with Kristen Meckem, you will have access to:

  • - Special perks and extra amenities
  • - An experienced travel guide whom you can rely on before, during, and after the trip
  • - Exclusive luxury resorts and properties
  • - Once in a lifetime experiences

Explore with the Best

Virtuoso Advisors are constantly pushing the boundaries in unique travel experiences.
Alliance programs are unique tailored experiences exclusive to travelers working with Virtuoso Travel Advisors.
learn more
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • France
  • Brazil
  • Mexico
  • Italy
  • Netherlands
  • Switzerland
  • Austria
  • United States - All
  • Belgium
  • New Zealand
  • Spain
  • Belize
  • Costa Rica