Bette Prochaska 

Houston, TX United States
Why work with an advisor? 
 98%
Recommended
65
Reviews
 
Travel Specialties
Interests
  • Destination Weddings
  • Independent Tours


Destinations
  • No Destinations
Selling Travel Since
1972
Languages
  • English

My Background

A travel advisor for over 30 years offering detailed service, helping clients to experience flawless and memorable trips.

Extensive travel experience with both children and adults to a wide variety of destinations, including off the beaten path areas of Europe not well known to many Americans. 

Specializing in - History, culture, adventure, family travel, cruises, and unique journeys..  . .  .    .  

Places I Have Traveled


Reviews and Recommendations for Bette Prochaska

98%

of 65
guests
recommend


Virtuoso Verified Traveler

All reviews are from confirmed guests sharing exclusive insights

Sort reviews by

Highly Recommend

By: Pat O


Reviewed on: 03 Oct 2013

I've worked with Bette for over 5 years now and she always does a first class job. She remembers all the little details that I would normally forget. Bette has planned probably 25 trips for us, most international, and all aspects have been handled in a very complete and professional manner. I'm proud to recommend her services.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

By: dg4...


Reviewed on: 13 Oct 2013

Bette arranged a wonderful trip for my wife and I to visit Kauai. The trip was fabulous. We will certainly use Bette for our next trip!

Highly Recommended

By: TMR


Reviewed on: 29 Oct 2013

Our trip to Italy was well planned and executed. Private tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and educated. The private drivers allowed us to see Tuscany and experience the great wines. Along with great travel documents and vouchers, Virtuoso also contacted us directly, several times, in Italy to ensure we 'knew the plan' and were on track which was very reassuring.

Highly recommended!

By: traveler


Reviewed on: 23 Oct 2013

Bette has helped me on many trips. She always does a wonderful job and is very helpful. This last trip on Globus called Classic Fall Foliage was a wonderful trip.

By: Not provided


Reviewed on: 29 Nov 2013

Bette has been very helpful. Her experience with Italy has helped us plan a very exciting trip.

Highly Recommended

By: PJOSugarLand


Reviewed on: 01 Dec 2013

Our recent trip planned by Ms. Prochaska went off without a hitch. Everything was exactly as presented and the hotel she selected was fabulous. I'll certainly be using Ms. Prochaska on all future travel.

By: Cool Hand


Reviewed on: 23 Dec 2013

Mrs. Prochaska has helped me plan several vactions and has done a wonderful job. I have given her name to several friends and co-workers and can not praise her enough.

Awesome Resort! - But Butler Service Not Worth It!

By: LindaInHouston288


Reviewed on: 04 Jan 2014

First, we want to thank Bette Prochaska before going "above and beyond" in setting up this trip!! Awesome travel agent who we would recommend highly!! Everything was wonderful about the resort except for our personal butler service, which was very disappointing!! Probably won't book another all-butler model resort again. Just not worth it!!

Highly reccomended

By: Not provided


Reviewed on: 10 Feb 2014

very satisfied

By: anitak


Reviewed on: 05 Mar 2014

Bette has become familiar with our travel likes and dislikes and designs a trip that suits us personally.

A job well do

By: Nita


Reviewed on: 14 Mar 2014

Bette did a wonderful job.  She kept me on track, with a gentle reminder of what I needed to do at every turn.  We had a fun relaxing time~~Thanks, Bette

By: hstelz


Reviewed on: 16 Mar 2014

Haven't traveled yet

Highly Recommend

By: Jeanine


Reviewed on: 24 Mar 2014

Highly recommended.

By: ronpete1


Reviewed on: 02 May 2014

Pam and I were more than delighted with every aspect of the facility from lodging to dining.  The staff bent over backwards to satisfy all our wants and supplied us with ample opportunities to enjoy any or all of the amenities the facility had to offer.  We played golf one day and took the boat excursion to the Pitons, both of which were well hosted.  All the restaurants were 5 star and staffed accordingly.  Interesting to find out that there is no tipping allowed for staff at the location.  We will go back.The only negative to the trip was not knowing about the hour and a half trip from the airport to the hotel, which if were had know would have been at least more accepting.  Other than that and the struggle through customs etc,, which travel always seem to be plagued with, all went well.Anxious to try some of the other recommendations Bette has.

Did a competent job

By: Not provided


Reviewed on: 10 May 2014

I had occasion to benefit from her services on an international trip (outside the US), and for such travel, I believe Bette did a fine job.  I would recommend using her help.

Highly Recommend

By: Fergie72


Reviewed on: 09 Jun 2014

My mother and I wanted to travel to Spain in 2013, but neither one of us had been before.  Our travel agent proved to be an experienced agent as well as traveler.  She was very pleasant and easy to work with.  There were a couple of tour companies that she recommended, one was a high-end company, the other more moderately priced.  We decided to go with Insight Tour Company because you can expand your time (and cost) according to what you individually want to see and do.  The hotels were beautiful and fairly westernized.  We would consider using Insight Tours again for a future trip and will certainly utilize the excellent services provided by Bette Prochaska at Woodlake Travel! 

Highly Recommend

By: Pat O'C


Reviewed on: 23 Jun 2014

My wife and I have used Bette for our extensive travel needs for 5-6 years.  Bette has always provided top notch service with a friendly and personable attitude.  Her knowledge of World travel has been a big benefit to us when making our travel decisions.  We recommend her highly!

Highly Recommended!!

By: aggietaylor89


Reviewed on: 24 Jul 2014

Bette advised us every step of the way including selecting our final destination and suggesting the resorts we stayed at. She operated within our budget for all planning purposes and was available frequently to help us with questions as we planned our honeymoon. The level of detail provided in our travel itinerary and of course experiencing a perfect trip showed us that it pays to have a quality travel agent take care of all the plans. Her customer service was friendly, personal, and abundantly patient. We will definitely be using Bette again for next year's vacation!
  Loading comments. Please wait...

She is the best

By: Gabriele


Reviewed on: 14 Oct 2014

All the arrangement she made worked out extremely well. I am very pleased. This is not the first she has helped me. She has a perfect record as far as I am concerned.

London transportation

By: Mel


Reviewed on: 27 Oct 2014

Bette Prochaska is an excellent travel agent and has the knowledge and experience to make a trip successful.

Bette Prochaska

By: MOJO


Reviewed on: 05 Nov 2014

Bette did a wonderful job of helping us plan our trip to South America with Globus. I have been on many Globus trips and have enjoyed them all. The trip was very well organized and everything went smoothly. We had a wonderful tour director. All of the local guides were knowledgeable and helpful. The hotels were very nice and centrally located. We saw many beautiful sights. We had a group of 37 and everyone was very nice and it was fun to make new friends. I have worked with Bette many times and she is always very helpful and does a great job of understanding what we want to do and see on our tours. Bette makes planning a trip easy. I will definitely work with Bette again in the future and I will also travel again with Globus.

Patagonia

By: JnB


Reviewed on: 03 Dec 2014

Bette, did an outstanding job of pulling together our trip to Patagonia. Everything went like clock work. The flow of the trip was great, just the right amount of time in each place. The places we stayed were very comfortable with outstanding staff. The transitions from place to place were ripe for possible snafus but there were none! We loved every minute. Bette's thoroughness and follow-up ensured we had a successful trip.

Expert vacation planner!

By: JHP


Reviewed on: 07 Dec 2014

As always, Bette suggested a magnificent resort for us to try while in Phoenix - our experience at the Scottsdale Fairmont Princess was exceptional. The food was spectacular, the service was word-class and they had a wide array of activities for us to participate. Bette is the best!

Professional, Helpful & Responsive Service

By: kweldon


Reviewed on: 04 Dec 2014

I really enjoyed working with Bette to plan my honeymoon. She was always willing to go the extra mile to answer my questions and requests. I thought I had researched all the resorts around my target destination, but Bette was able to recommend a resort that I had not heard of and we ended up choosing, so she's very knowledgeable and able to find those diamonds in the rough. I would highly recommend working with Bette to plan that perfect getaway and plan to use her again in the future.

Sea Island, Georgia

By: JHP


Reviewed on: 03 Apr 2015

We had an amazing time at the beautiful Cloister recommended by Bette. The accommodations and service were spectacular - we will be back!! Relaxing, many activities and amenities. We always know we are in for a special time with Bette's recommendations. We won't plan a trip without her!

Awesome Services for Honeymoon Trip Planning!

By: dhrandle


Reviewed on: 06 Jul 2015

Bette was a huge help when planning our recent honeymoon trip to the Sandals resort in St. Lucia. Although most of Sandals resort planning can be done online with ease, we trusted Bette to help get us all the extra "honeymoon" ammenities, dinner reservations, etc. booked with the resort prior to our trip. She frequently communicated with the Sandals resort on our behalf. During the beginning stages, she gave my wife and I a list of activities that another couple did during their trip there. In addition, there were issues with the US Airways / American Airlines merger that is currently taking place and Bette made sure our seating issues we were having were dealt with and corrected with the airlines. Overall, my wife (Kori) and I would recommend Bette for any travel needs and will definitely use her and Woodlake Travel Services for our future adventures. Thank you! -Darren & Kori
Not Recommended

A Few Problems

By: Redd1954


Reviewed on: 23 Jul 2015

A trip to Spain was organized thru this agent with little attention or interest. I wanted to go over the itinerary before the trip, and was told to wait until the final paperwork was sent. One week before the trip, I called and forced a meeting. At that meeting, she was unorganized, finally found our final paperwork in here spam file , and quickly went over what I could have read myself. At the end, my wife pointed out that our transportation to the airport on the last day did not match our flight - glad she saw that because our agent did not. Very average service for the price
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Best Travel Agent Around

By: TJ


Reviewed on: 29 Jul 2015

Bette Prochaska knew what she was talking about when she recommended AMA Waterways! AMA Waterways provided a fabulous river cruise down the Danube River. Excellent service was given by all of the staff on board. The food/meals were outstanding. So much variety and presented with class! The tour kept us busy and we were able to see and hear so much history in each little town or city we visited. We especially loved the little town of Vilshofen, Germany. Very quaint. I would like to sail again down the Rhine. I am so glad I had the opportunity to take this trip. Thank you Woodlake Travel and Bette Prochaska for all your work in making this trip possible. I had a friend today ask me who plans my fabulous trips and I referred her to Bette Prochaska! I will continue to refer your services to others. You're the BEST!!! TJ

Excellent Job!

By: TCLC


Reviewed on: 01 Aug 2015

Bette did a spectacular job of planning a great trip for me and my Bride on our honeymoon. We stayed at two hotels and didn't have any issues with the transportation to and from each one. Bette had good knowledge of the resorts in the area (Cancun) and was able to guide us through our options and help us pick places that fit what we were looking for. After returning from the trip, I can honestly say she did one heck of a job. They were exactly what we were looking for and exceeded our expectations.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Luxurious Long Weekend - Cape Cod

By: RW77345


Reviewed on: 10 Aug 2015

Bette put us up at the Chatham Bars Inn. It was a good fit for what we told Bette we wanted - quaint, main street shopping, ocean-view and luxury-filled. The Inn was very well maintained, the food excellent and the staff service-oriented. Bette did a great job at filling our requirements.

Hyatt Lost Pines

By: JHP


Reviewed on: 17 Aug 2015

Exceptional customer service, as always!

Wonderful Travel Agent!

By: LuvingLife


Reviewed on: 02 Jan 2016

Bette is a wonderful, very professional and very knowledgeable travel agent. She has booked many trips for us over the past few years. I would highly recommend using her as a travel agent!

Excellent Service and Choices!

By: ChrisAnn


Reviewed on: 11 Feb 2016

Both hotels were very good especially the Ritz-Carleton. Bette did a great job working with us to figure out a rather complicated itinerary that worked out just perfect in the end.

GREAT TIME IN HONG KONG

By: CGC


Reviewed on: 24 Feb 2016

Bette worked hard, and last-minute for us, to put together sightseeing trips with a driver and guide in Hong Kong. It was exactly what we wanted. She had excellent judgement and counseled us appropriately given what we wanted to do and how much time we had. The guide in Hong Kong was great. He was professional and flexible. I would go again!!
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Fantastic Service!

By: Ron and Donna


Reviewed on: 06 Mar 2016

We wanted to spend 2 weeks in Argentina and Chile, including Patagonia, but didn't really know where to start. Bette made excellent suggestions, responded promptly to all questions, and made sure that every detail was covered. She was very pleasant to work with (in our case over the phone and via email) and very patient with us. We enjoyed every aspect of our trip without worrying that there was something we missed that would cause a problem. We would highly recommend Bette to anyone desiring expert help in planning a trip.

Extremely Professional

By: Sheila and Tom


Reviewed on: 12 Jun 2016

The trip exceeded expectations. We are giving it a top rating. Bette is very professional.

First Class all the way

By: Stan & Dava


Reviewed on: 01 Sep 2016

Every part of our trip that you set up and advised us on could not have been any better. You exceeded our expectations with your knowledge and local connections in Italy and Greece. Every contractor, be it hotel, driver or guide, was was professional, knowledgeable and friendly. Thank you for your hard work. I have already recommended you to my daughter. She is taken a similar trip next year.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Wonderful trip to Greece

By: KSul


Reviewed on: 26 Sep 2016

Bette planned an unforgettable 10-day trip to Greece for us. From A+ accommodations to amazing activities to first class transportation, Bette covered it all and made it so easy to enjoy our vacation. We will absolutely use Bette and Woodlake Travel for our next trip.

Great service

By: loucat418


Reviewed on: 01 Oct 2016

Bette helped us plan back to back guided tour vacations, first to Scotland and then Ireland/England plus an ending visit to Paris. Everything went like clockwork. All travel connections and transfers were executed without a hitch. The tours were just as she described and led by professional, informative hosts. We had used Bette before for a vacation to Italy and Sicily with the same satisfying results. The attention to detail and expert experience in her field puts our minds at ease to HIGHLY recommend her to our friends and family. We are looking forward to the next time we are able to take advantage of her services. A big "hats off" to Bette Prochaska!

Great expert advise and service

By: Gabriele


Reviewed on: 06 Oct 2016

All arrangements made were perfect; no complaints

Efficient, friendly and PATIENT!

By: janie


Reviewed on: 24 Oct 2016

Betty set us up with a great trip to Hawaii, pulling together a family in 3 different parts of the country. She listened patiently and responded with wonderful ideas. Thank you, Betty, we loved our vacation!!

Great job by Bette Prochaska

By: John


Reviewed on: 02 Nov 2016

We had a good time on the Princess Pacific Coastal Cruise on the Star Princess,. Bette did a great job on making our arrangements and following up as necessary to provide us needed documents between the time the cruise was purchased and the actual cruise start date.

Great Customer Service

By: Texas Girl


Reviewed on: 03 Jan 2017

Thank you Betty for a wonder hotel in Carlsbad California.

Great advice and support

By: Doug


Reviewed on: 15 Jan 2017

Once again, Bette has helped us tremendously on a cruise. There are lot of factors in personally enjoying a vacation to a new place. She is a trusted advisor and we really appreciate her.

One and Only Palmilla

By: BREAUXS


Reviewed on: 20 Jan 2017

Great! She provided clear communication channels and was very knowledgeable when helping choose our destination. Thanks again Bette for planning our amazing honeymoon. -Blaire & Ryan Breaux
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Austria/Germany

By: JHP


Reviewed on: 24 Mar 2017

Bette is the consummate professional - very focused on exceptional customer service and providing a flawless experience with many special touches to ensure a best in class travel memory.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Perfectly planned for Maui

By: sms


Reviewed on: 18 Apr 2017

As this was our first trip to Maui, I relied heavily on the advice of Bette. We were not disappointed at all with her recommendations for house rental, activities, sightseeing and scheduling. In fact, our trip to Maui was a dream come true for our party of three adults and two teenagers. Bette was responsive, prompt and knowledgable. We have relied on her before as our travel specialist and will continue to do so in the future. Vacations are too priceless to not have the best helping you plan them, and Bette Prochaska is the best.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Israel

By: Happy traveler


Reviewed on: 08 May 2017

Bette was very helpful in getting us our insurance. She gave great advice and was a joy to deal with.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Scotland in May

By: Zeta girl


Reviewed on: 14 May 2017

Bette is amazing. Anything you ask she can do. If you have a problem while traveling, she will do everything she can to help.

Excellent advice

By: Cappy


Reviewed on: 02 Jul 2017

Bette did a great job guiding us on our first cruise, our first trip to Canada and Alaska. She had great suggestions for excursions, hotels, and tours. Thank you, Bette!
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Traveling Sisters

By: Kindra


Reviewed on: 25 Jun 2017

I have been working with Bette since 2014. We travel every year, but I started using her because our previous travel agent moved to California. Ms. Bette has always been professional and we simply tell her what we want and she always delivers. I love working with her and I have recommended her to friends in the past.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Croatia Island Hopping

By: MVM


Reviewed on: 19 Jul 2017

Working with Bette was outstanding. She found a tour that best suited our needs. Our trip to Croatia was wonderful, and the local Avanti crew was outstanding in getting us from place to place on time and efficiently. All of the hotels were acceptable, but three out of the five were very good indeed.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Costa Rica

By: KikiG


Reviewed on: 13 Jul 2017

She was on top of everything and did everything she could to ensure every detail was perfect. We missed our check in because of traffic and she worked on the spot to contact our hotel and transportation to make necessary, last minute changes. She made everything easy.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Awesome Travel Agent!

By: L. H.


Reviewed on: 19 Aug 2017

Bette is wonderful to work with. She is very knowledgeable with arranging travels based on needs. Once we give her an idea on where we would like to travel, she gets right on it and finds us wonderful options to consider. Always feel comfortable that she has done a very thorough job in setting up our arrangements wherever we go. Highly recommend Bette as a travel agent!

Tauck New York city Event

By: gabriele


Reviewed on: 16 Oct 2017

She is very competent and super easy to work with.

Viking Rhine River Trip

By: Pat O'C


Reviewed on: 20 Nov 2017

Working with Bette P was great. She handled all the details of our trip and made things very easy for my wife and I. Bette has great knowledge of most areas we've traveled too and always has good recommendations for hotels and things to see.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Christmas in New York

By: Luigi


Reviewed on: 03 Jan 2018

Bette is nothing short of fantastic. She seems to know exactly what we are looking for and is always right. We will use her whenever we travel again which I hope is soon. We highly recommend Bette.

Another perfect trip!

By: Sharon


Reviewed on: 11 May 2018

Bette, once again, planned a perfect vacation. Our spring break trip to Turks and Caicos was exactly what we wanted. Going there for the first time, we relied on Bette's expertise to find accommodations, restaurants, and activities. Bette is always responsive, professional and knowledgeable. Planning a vacation with her is easy, and the results are exceptional!

Safari

By: Chad


Reviewed on: 22 Apr 2018

We have worked with Bette before - several times. She knows us and what we like and dislike on a trip. We have had a few missteps but all in all we are very happy with Bette. We will continue to use her, in fact we are working with her now on another trip to Peru

Great Time

By: McGruff


Reviewed on: 14 Jun 2018

Working with Bette was a pleasure. She helped make out trip very enjoyable

Betty Is The Best!

By: Linda


Reviewed on: 11 Jun 2018

Excellent! Betty knows the travel industry thoroughly and is wonderful to work with for any trips we make! She is very professional and knowledgeable. I trust her with all our travel arrangements.

Asia private tour

By: Lu


Reviewed on: 15 Jun 2018

Bette has planned many itineraries for us and we always look forward to working with her. She listens to what we are looking for and goes out of her way to offer several ideas and companies to work with. She knows our family now after many trips and is never surprised when we ask for something different than the standard itinerary. We have worked with Bette on trips to South America, Russia, South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, VietNam, Cambodia and Thailand. The company she recommended for our recent trip was one of the best we have ever worked with. There was such great attention to detail especially since 2 different Visas were required upon arrival. We were met at every flight and escorted throughout our stay. The company kept in touch with Bette during our trip. Bette worked diligently on our flights to get us the best deal along with giving us the maximum amount of time to spend on our vacation. Bette has changed our perspective on travel with her personal service. She is the best!

Ireland and Great Briatain

By: Cassie


Reviewed on: 04 Aug 2018

Bette was very easy to work with especially since we were first time travelers with Tauck and she explained in detail your service and attention to detail. She also explained other travelers experiences with Tauck and handled the details of setting up our trip very professionally plus handling our roundtrip airline flights and extra days of hotel accommodations. The trip was a 50th Anniversary trip that we for years had anticipated and were very blown away by the experience of seeing Ireland, Great Britain, learning their history, politics and meeting many lovely people. The guides were outstanding and very informative. Thank You Bette & Tauck for helping us enjoy a dream!

Banff area

By: Piglet


Reviewed on: 11 Aug 2018

Great choices for hotels.

Trip to Memphis

By: Jeanine


Reviewed on: 10 Sep 2018

Bette is professional, available and very client centered in assisting with all of our travel needs. Her advice is spot on and exceptionally valuable in terms of where to stay, what to see and where to eat. We won't travel without checking with Bette first!

Working with Bette Prochaska, you will have access to:

  • - Special perks and extra amenities
  • - An experienced travel guide whom you can rely on before, during, and after the trip
  • - Exclusive luxury resorts and properties
  • - Once in a lifetime experiences

Explore with the Best

Virtuoso Advisors are constantly pushing the boundaries in unique travel experiences.
Alliance programs are unique tailored experiences exclusive to travelers working with Virtuoso Travel Advisors.
learn more