Karen Henderson 

Waterbury, CT United States
Travel365Design, an independent affiliate of Largay Travel
 100%
Recommended
17
Reviews
 
Travel Specialties
Interests
  • Adventure
  • Family Travel
  • Food & Wine
  • River Cruising
  • Culture, History & Arts


Destinations
  • Italy
  • France
  • United Kingdom
  • South Africa
  • New Zealand
Selling Travel Since
2011
Languages
  • English

My Background

The path to becoming a travel advisor has been a winding & rewarding road for me. From a very early age my mom and I would ‘take to the road’, and by repeated example, she taught me to live a life filled with discovery and adventure.

My initial career as a registered nurse taught me the importance of attention to detail, as well as the need to celebrate the moment and to seek out and surround myself with things that truly matter. Travel has transformed my life and now, with my position as a travel advisor, I am so privileged to share my passion and love of travel with my clients.

In addition to being a Disney Specialist (my most recent trip marked my 30th visit to the Magic Kingdom), my expertise and travel recommendations include Hawaii, Europe, and Africa. My recent African Safari was a life-changing event for me, and I would welcome the opportunity to share my 1st hand experience and the magic of Africa with you. I am also a Certified Tauck Specialist and a member of the Virtuoso Wellness Community.

I’m currently based in Colorado and have the pleasure of working with clients throughout the United States, Canada and Europe. Thanks to my affiliation with the Virtuoso Travel Network, I have established relationships with worldwide travel partners that will deliver unique, exclusive experiences and special amenities to make every one of your travel experiences epic and memorable.

I look forward to discovering and understanding what matters to you, and to customizing a journey that will connect you to family, friends, cultures and the magic and happiness that comes from travel.

Places I Have Traveled


Memberships 

Virtuoso Alliances
  • VAST - Virtuoso Active & Specialty Travel

Reviews and Recommendations for Karen Henderson

100%

of 17
guests
recommend


Virtuoso Verified Traveler

All reviews are from confirmed guests sharing exclusive insights

Sort reviews by

We could have never planned a vacation this amazing without her help

By: AllieLou


Reviewed on: 17 Sep 2014

We just got back from an AMAZING vacation in Maui. Karen was unbelievably helpful with all of our planning from the first stages of picking which island all the way down to hotel, meals, excursions, and every detail in between. She made it all so easy for us to relax as soon as we got there. A few weeks before we left, we were thinking about which excursions to plan, Karen had told us about how she just got back from Maui and that she did a day trip to through Trilogy to Lanai and that she loved it. We took her advice and it turned out to be our favorite thing we did on our trip! We did the day trip to Lanai with the SNUBA option and it was the coolest experience I have ever had! Karen went above and beyond to make sure we had the vacation of a lifetime. I know we would not have been able to plan this trip without her expertise and guidance. I don't think we will ever plan a trip without her help again.

Caring, thurough advise!

By: Nancy


Reviewed on: 04 Oct 2014

Our trip was very well organized and loved the extra care from Karen. Her selections of guides from Context we're perfect for our needs. The booking for our Florence hotel was a great location for our exploration. Overall, I will recommend others to go to her.

Over the Top Service

By: Tiffany


Reviewed on: 01 Dec 2014

Karen is the most amazing travel service provider I have ever known. Her level of customer service is over the top. No detail is too small and every question or concern I have is put at the top of her priority list. Karen has developed a strong relationship with me and I have no doubt she does the same with all of her clients. I feel so comfortable working with her and we have so much fun planning our trips. I have a very busy work schedule and have four young children, which doesn't leave me much free time. Karen works amazingly with very little input as well as with a lot of input when I have time. Karen has planned five vacations for me, the latest being a trip that my husband and I took to Maui. Every one has been exceptional. She's great with family and couples only getaways!

AWESOME EXPERIENCE!

By: jwheat37


Reviewed on: 19 Jan 2015

Karen at Great Getaways always plans a perfect trip for us. We had a 71 year old, a 47 year old and a 10 year old and the Royal Caribbean Navigator of the Seas voyage was perfect for all of us. Great food, really good people on board, excellent service, clean rooms, etc. We had a lot of fun on the beach excursions in Cozumel, Honduras and Belize. Overall, really glad we went and loved the ship. Thank you again to Karen!

EXPERT FRIENDLY SERVICE

By: Back from Brazil


Reviewed on: 11 Feb 2015

Karen was very helpful in planning our trip. We had no worries or problems with our transfers and traveling. She was responsive to all of our questions and concerns.

Over The Top Service to Every Detail on 2 major Trips

By: Walter Going Places


Reviewed on: 05 Feb 2015

Karen planned two major Trips, one aboard the RC "Oasis" which as a learning adventure aboard such a large ship. All aspects of the boarding and excursion schedules went off with no problems. I would highly recommend Karen, since she also planed another trip a short time later and it was also handled in a very professional manner. I plan using her services in the future., since I know she will go a over an above what is expected of her. She is also one of the pleasant Travel Agents I have had the pleasure of dealing with.

Friendly, helpful, personalized service!

By: Linda


Reviewed on: 08 Apr 2015

Our trip was amazingly well planned and fit our needs/wants. Accommodations were awesome...great locations and views. Excursions/activities were very enjoyable...loved having our own personal tour guides. The guides were knowledgeable, friendly, and spoke English well. Karen and the contacts in Spain/Italy were available 24/7 to answer questions and provide assistance when needed. We will use Karen with Great Getaways for our travel plans in the future!

Trip of a Lifetime

By: The Newlyweds


Reviewed on: 05 May 2015

We cannot say enough great things about Karen. She did such a fantastic job at planning our honeymoon! Our trip was totally seamless...she laid everything out so beautifully...we don't have any complaints! She's a great communicator and a true professional. We can't wait to plan our next European excursion so we can work with her again! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Fabulous Trip to the Del

By: Twill24


Reviewed on: 11 Aug 2015

We couldn't have been more pleased with our accommodations at the Hotel Del and all the arrangements made for us by Karen. It is always a pleasure doing business with her.

OUTSTANDING SERVICE

By: Jen


Reviewed on: 15 Oct 2015

Karen Henderson was a blessing ! This being my first European trip I wasn't sure how to go about booking everything . We got ahold of great getaways and were given Karen as our agent and couldn't be more grateful . Everything from flights to hotels , trains and tours was above our expectations !! So much so that I plan on using Karen ( if she'll have us ) lol to book our future trips which will hopefully be many ! I won't hesitate to recommend her to anyone looking to travel as well ! Again - could not have asked for better service ! She was easy to reach when we had questions and was quick to respond when we couldn't talk one on one ! Thank you Karen for the trip of a lifetime ! Look forward to working with you in the future . Great Getaways is lucky to have you !!!

Great advice!!

By: MB87


Reviewed on: 12 Nov 2015

We were given expert advice! We mistakenly thought we could plan a trip to Belgium and Austria on our own. Once we contacted Karen we knew we needed her assistance. She brought up aspects of the trip that we hadn't even considered. She advised us on everything from hotels to how to structure our time. She was spot on with her recommendations! The hotels we booked were top notch and the tours we booked were excellent. We had a great trip, flawless! Will never plan a big trip like this without her expert help!

Very organized friendly service from Karen

By: KS@3


Reviewed on: 22 Jun 2016

Karen and great get away travel did everything she could considering a once in a lifetime flood in Paris. The Barge company should have come clean on the fact that they couldn't provide an alternative to the awesome trip we were supposed to have been on, a trip down the seine river thru Paris. Instead we went from Lock to Lock seeing and experiencing no villages or vineyards from our barge, Only by van and traveling and hour and a half. It was just ridiculous to be honest and to only receive 1500 out of 10,000 back was not right. They got off so easy!!! That trip should have never happened and if we had known any better we would have gotten off the barge before it ever left! The icing on the cake was the last night, being moored in front of a house with chickens and dogs! At that point it was just comical except for one of our passengers whose bucket list trip this was, she just burst into tears. With all this being said my complaint isn't with Karen, i would use her again.

Couldn't be happier

By: Savant


Reviewed on: 08 Sep 2016

We used Karen Henderson to plan our trip to Belize this last summer and she was outstanding. Before choosing a travel advisor, we conducted a lot of research to see who would be the best choice based on online reviews and word of mouth. Karen Henderson stood out as the best Colorado and Kansas has to offer. Karen spent hours answering our questions, providing us a detailed agenda, and a carefree vacation. Karen made the process incredibly easy and took extra steps many other advisors don't (but should), like taking time on her days off to answer questions, and book different accommodations when we changed our minds for the ump-teenth time. When we received our travel itinerary, we were blown away. Karen's hard work and knowledge of what it take to plan a stress-free vacation really paid off. We will continue to recommend all our friends to speak with Karen Henderson at Great Getaways Travel before planning any trip. Thank you.

It's all in the DETAILS

By: ECS, CT


Reviewed on: 17 Nov 2016

Our family of 10 had an amazing trip to Disney with the expert assistance of Karen Henderson. I can't imagine planning a trip to Disney without her involvement.

Mexico

By: Kirk


Reviewed on: 06 Feb 2017

She did I very god job. All details were covered.

Awesome Travel Advisor

By: Linda


Reviewed on: 10 Jun 2017

Karen has been planning trips for my family and I for the past few years. She's very friendly, knowledgeable and prompt. Karen has done a remarkable job handling flights, rental cars, lodging, restaurants, and entertainment/excursions.
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Outstanding Travel Concierge

By: Tiffany Moseley


Reviewed on: 23 Jun 2017

Karen Henderson is an outstanding travel concierge. She has planned over a dozen trips for me in the past five years. She loves to dream with me and find the next exciting travel adventure that perfectly fits me and my family. She doesn't leave any detail undone. She has grown to know me and my likes and customizes our travel perfectly! I recommend Karen to everyone I have the pleasure of meeting and sharing my travel experiences with. Karen has opened up the world to many of my friends so that they can share in the amazing life experiences that our world has to offer! Thank you Karen! I couldn't live without you!!!
  Loading comments. Please wait...

Working with Karen Henderson, you will have access to:

  • - Special perks and extra amenities
  • - An experienced travel guide whom you can rely on before, during, and after the trip
  • - Exclusive luxury resorts and properties
  • - Once in a lifetime experiences

Explore with the Best

Virtuoso Advisors are constantly pushing the boundaries in unique travel experiences.
Alliance programs are unique tailored experiences exclusive to travelers working with Virtuoso Travel Advisors.
learn more
  • Italy
  • France
  • United Kingdom
  • South Africa
  • New Zealand